1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Direct dial gaming help please

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by Decrypto, Dec 3, 2004.

  1. Decrypto

    Decrypto Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a 56K modem and I play "Age Of Empires" by dialing a friends phone number and his modem will answer and we can play, but I can't seem to do it with any other game's. So does anyone know how I can directly play other game's the same way?
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    depends if games are set up to play online or not
     
  3. Xian

    Xian Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Most games these days are programmed for internet play instead of direct modem connections. Many older games would play over a direct connection though, Doom, Duke Nukem 3D, Warcraft, and Wing Commander Armada, to name a few.
     
  4. Decrypto

    Decrypto Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Would there be some way i could still connect the two modem's but have the game think it's a lan game? I only ask because i'm sick of having to unplug the hedge of wires, bundle it in the car, drag it to the mates place and then back home again. Although the lan is nice and fast.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2004

Share This Page