1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DISCS OR HARDRIVES FOR STORAGE

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by DUBBZ, Apr 3, 2005.

1. DUBBZ

DUBBZ Member

I am not sure if this is the right forum for this question, but i am a newbie and i am allowed to be stupid by law, so here it is. Is it better to store tons of data such as mp3's and mpegs etc. on discs or back up harddrives. I got hundreds of data discs that i have to use on occasion and i find that some discs dont read anymore or appear to be scratched or some redundancy error. I take care of all my discs but i am losing files b-cuz of these disc errors. I know it is cheaper to backup your files on disc, but is it better in the long run due to scratches and errors, time etc. ? I have lost some important files that I thought was safely on a disc and i need some advice. Thanx in advance.

2. vipera

vipera Member

Well, unless you regularly back up your hard drives and/or you use RAID system, you run the risk of losing everything at once by storing it on a hard drive. The best option is to use high quality media, make 2 copies of everything you burn, and store one in a dark, dry location.

3. DogBomb

DogBomb Regular member