1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

divineo wiikey clone only reads wiikey 1.2 disc

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by jimbliss, May 13, 2007.

  1. jimbliss

    jimbliss Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I installed a WiiKey *Clone* from http://www.divineo.com/cgi-bin/div-us/dd-wi-wkeyclo
    on my Wii 2.2U DMS
    Followed http://www.wiikey.cn/images/installWiiKey.pdf used only soldier
    on #4 the soldier pad lifted up from the WiiKey with part of the track
    on #4 I followed the track back and soldered a wire to the chip leg to the wii board
    I downloaded http://www.wiikey.cn/dl/config.1.2.rar
    ran BootableDisc_US.bat on Vista
    A Pioneer DVR-110D Firmware 1.41 burned bootdisc.us.iso with Nero 7.8.5
    @ 4x using DAO finalizing the disc on on Maxwell DVD-R
    The Wii seen it but had DRE's.
    I burned it again the same way but used a Verbatim DVD+R

    The Wii can use the WiiKey base v1.2 Disc without any problems.
    In fact it's the only disc I can get it to read.
    I've went into the WiiKey Config changed override, audio, speed
    saved settings, and reset the console, and still only this disc works.

    The Wii can not use real Wii and real GameCube Disc.
    Disc Channel
    ?
    Unable to read the disc.
    Check the Wii Operations Manual
    for help troubleshooting.
    (Wii Menu)

    The Wii can not use burned GC Games that the gamecube can read.

    I do not have a backup Wii Game to try,
    I do not have iso's for the Gamecube games any more I think if I re-burnt them on different media it'd work, but I haven't tried this.

    If I disconnect #4 (it must disable the mod chip) it can read real Wii and real Gamecube titles.
    I hooked up #4 again.

    What should I do?
    I've been trying tons of different things, still no luck

    Only once has it not read the Verbatim burn of the WiiKey disk 1.2 when it didn't same error as above
    Only once has it gave me an this...
    WiiKey config, save settings
    Saving settings... error saving
     
  2. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I see 1 mistake...

    There have been threads of Divineo selling Clone Wiikey chips that are defective. Could have got one of those defective chips. Before Wiikey had their hard Drive Failure on the site they had took Divineo off their re-seller list due to the clones they are selling plus due to the defective Wiikey clones.

    I guess you get what you pay for. Doesn't it suck when you try to save a few bucks and buy a cheaper clone Modchip but yet it comes to bit ya in the ARSE and cost ya more in the end.

    Since you can not boot up original Wii or GC games then I would assume that there is some sort of problem with either the install of the chip or the Wiikey itself. Make sure your soldering points are clean and is not bridging and make sure you have not splashed any solder which has bridge connection on the board.

    If you still have a problem then try getting your money back from Divineo and buy the real deal from a site that is on the re-sellers list at the Wiikey site...

    http://www.wiikey.cn/resellers.html
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2007
  3. protomind

    protomind Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My chip may or may not be a clone, I am not sure as there have been several versions of the wiikey. I do suspect it may cause I paid a lower price. Thought I was getting a great deal at the time, time will show if I did or not.

    I will say this, I used a verbatim dual layer 16x disc @4x to burn my first backup of Twilight Princess,. Didnt work at all.


    Just got a deal on some maxell 16x single layer (dvd5) from staples and runs like a champ. May you should try using another brand? I personally know verbatim makes great discs though, you would think that it would work.
     
  4. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Before trying other media you need to get the problem fixed with the Original Wii Game Disc not booting.

    I would assume if the Original Wii or Game Cube Games will not boot then your backups more then likely will not boot either. Which would have nothing to do with the blank media you are using.

    Once you get your original Games and the boot disc to work on the Wii system then start trying to find some blank media that will work well with your Wii.
     
  5. wiimods

    wiimods Guest

    If you aren't sure what you are doing, let someone with experience do it for you!
     
  6. protomind

    protomind Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2007
  7. Atomiswav

    Atomiswav Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My WiiKey clone works fine.

    Wii orginals + backups ALL REGION OK

    GC Originals + backups ALL REGION OK
     
  8. inapond

    inapond Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have had a very similar problem. See my thread - http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/504907

    I thought I was buying an original Wiikey from games4play.com in UK as they were on the official site and are on it again after the hard drive crash. As you can read, I'm pretty sure I bought a clone even though my receipt shows original.

    I have now has a Wiifree fitted by an expert and upto now, every disk I have tried in it works great. Good luck
     
  9. jimbliss

    jimbliss Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I explained the problem to divineo and they are sending me another one.
    I did make a backup of one of my real Wii games, and it plays fine.
    Strange it doesn't like real games.
     
  10. DrPhantum

    DrPhantum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm having a similar problem...

    I got my WiiKey from www.foundmy.com (should be original)
    I used Kynar wire to do the install
    I used Double sided foam tape under the chip
    I covered the wire connections with scotch tape
    I can boot (and play) originals, but cannot boot backups or the setup disk
    I have used Fuji DVD+R and Memorex DVD-R disks, neither worked
    I have used the latest version of imgBurn with default settings and at both 1x & 4x.

    Does anyone have any suggestions? Do I have a bad chip? Does the fact that I can play originals with the chip installed mean anything?
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2007
  11. protomind

    protomind Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well you need to tell us more thenthat, like what burner you are using etcetera.....it sounds like maybe you are having issues with your burner and or media.
     
  12. DrPhantum

    DrPhantum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've used two different burners: A Samsung SH-S182D (IDE) and a Samsung SH-S183L (SATA). I wouldn't think that the burner is the problem. On the definitive "How to back up Wii games tutorial," they consistently say "any burner will work... it's the LG series reader that matters."

    But, I'm willing to try another burner.

    Also, do I have to run the setup disk before playing a backup game?
    I've got a US Wii that I bought the first day they came out.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2007
  13. protomind

    protomind Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hmm that is weird.....what speed you burning at? I do beleive you should run your setup disc before playing backups. What backups have you tried to play BTW?
     
  14. Atomiswav

    Atomiswav Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I never had to use the setup disc to play except to set it up to force a region. I also use an LG burner to burn the games....no problem and knock on wood.
     
  15. ghostboy6

    ghostboy6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    it could be:
    1.) a faulty installation
    2.) bad media

    i suggest you to first try a good quality media first (verbatim or tayo yuden suggested) and if they dont work try some other different brands and if it still didnt work then its the installation or a broken chip
     
  16. DrPhantum

    DrPhantum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    UPDATE:

    OK... Everything works fine for me now. I had a bad wire. When I stripped the Kynar, it broke the wire but not the insulation. That's what happens when you're dealing with such a small gauge wire... and the insulation is thicker/stronger than the conductor.

    Anyway... when I tested continuity with the multimeter, the wire must have been connected. I remember getting a spotty signal, but I just figured it was my hand shaking. When I put everything back together, the wire must have bent and separated inside the insulation jacket.

    New wire... works great!

    Good luck to all of you in the thread that are still having issues... I hope you get it running soon!

    ~Ryan, PA
     
  17. evbeurdn

    evbeurdn Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have already done several installs, only one out of four worked the first time. Your problems point to bad soldering, as was the case in all of my three non-working mods.
    Take care that the ground and power (big holes) are connected okay.
    Best way to check is to use a multimeter in the zero resistance mode and check if all connections are in place. Best method is to put on lead on top of the mod, and wipe the other lead over the drive control chips leads, top side leads, first 10 from left to right. Each should give a positive beep to confirm a good connection. No harm can happen to the drive electronics. Will point to the bad connection.....
     
  18. jimbliss

    jimbliss Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    A friend of mine ordered two of these clones from the same place.
    The chips look different, the one I installed on my Wii works great.
    Haven't used the other mod chip yet.
    Everything I've put into my Wii works:)
    I haven't got my replacement yet.
     

Share This Page