1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DL DVD media type problem

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by buckley28, Oct 18, 2004.

1. buckley28

buckley28 Member

Hey guys,
    I just recently saw a post in here that stated whatever style my DVD Rom was I needed to buy the same discs to match it.

I have a "16xNEC DVD+RW ND-3100AD" drive.

The Decryptor program does not recognize that I have a disc in when I'm ready to burn my ISO image which was done through Shrink (I'm using 9.4GB dual layer DVD-R discs).
    I have burned data files and audio discs onto CD-R media discs so why would it be any different? What the hell do I need to have so I can put the ISO image burned onto a disc so I can watch the flipping movie? HELP!!!!!!!!!!! Yes I am a newbie frustrated retard at the moment.

2. DGenerate

DGenerate Member

You say you have a [bold]16xNEC DVD+RW ND-3100AD[/bold], and you're using [bold]9.4GB dual layer DVD-R[/bold] discs.

Two ideas:

1 - Does your burner support dual layer burning?
    2 - Does your burner support DVD-R (as opposed to DVD+R)?

And out of interest, why would you use DVD Shrink if you've got Decrypter and dual layer media?

EDIT: I just realized, DL media is DVD+R, not DVD-R. You should clarify a) what kind of media your burner supports, and b) what kind of media you're using.

Last edited: Oct 19, 2004
  3. RicTheRed

RicTheRed Guest

Humm,

I'd be surprised. I thought that the DL-R were not available and are being developed.
    Are you sure?

4. buckley28

buckley28 Member

DGenerate,
    1 - Does your burner support dual layer burning?
    From what the specs say on Dell.com "dbl layer write capable"

2 - Does your burner support DVD-R (as opposed to DVD+R)?
    From what I can guess doesnt a drive that is +RW only support +RW media? If the answer is yes then how does one explain why I can record audio CD's CD+/-R/RW?