1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DMA Speed

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by ixtreme, Feb 9, 2004.

  1. ixtreme

    ixtreme Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have been reading on the forum about changing over to DMA especially in the last post but i cannot find it anywhere on my system, i have wimdows ME and have gone into the device manager and cannot find anything it takes about 3 hours from start to finish to copy a movie and to me that is slow compared to you other guys.
    I use Dvd shrink and nero 6

    Packard Bell 1000
    512 ram
    freecom external dvd writer
    40gb
    dvd rom samsung 612
    memorex cd writer twelve maxx 1032

    Any help would be appreciated on finding this dam elusive DMA
    Regards
    Eldon
     
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I have only a faint recollection of using ME but this may help.

    Go to the Device Manager.

    Open IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers.

    Right-click and choose properties for Primary IDE Channel and Secondary IDE Channel. There will be an option under "advanced settings" for DMA and it will tell you what mode you are currently running in for each drive on the channel.

    Select "DMA if available" for all of your drives.

    If you restart and Window still reports them in PIO mode, check your BIOS to make sure transfer modes are all set to Auto or forced to DMA.


     
  3. ixtreme

    ixtreme Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi Nephilim
    Thanks for your reply i still cannot find the IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers in the device manager. Under the hard disc controllers i have primary and secondary ide controller (dual fifo)which you cannot cahnge to anything and under disc drivers i have generic disc type 47 when i go into settings i have a tick in DMA and that is all nothing about the primary and secondary channel maybe i should just do away with this ME and get something else.
    Regards
     
  4. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I think in ME you go to device manager, right click on your cdrom or dvdrom, then settings, then check the dma box. The only other place to check is to go into the bios settings at startup.
    Jerry
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2004
  5. ixtreme

    ixtreme Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi Jerry7 46
    Thank you for this i found the DMA on the dvd rom drive in the device manager and have tick this, there isn't one in my external dvd writer but i have checked and it is writing at 4x speed so i am happy with that.
    Thank you again for your help and also Nephilim
    Kind Regards
    Eldon
     
  6. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    My pleasure, ixtreme, even though I didn't get you far :)

    Now I have a question for all. Not having ever used an external device, would DMA even be applicable to a USB or Firewire driven device?
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Gigabyte 8INXP, Intel P4HT 3.06
    Mushkin 1024 MB PC2100
    Sapphire 9800 Pro
    Plextor PX-708A/Plextor Premium/LTD-166S
    M-Audio Revolution 7.1
    Bald is Beautiful[/small]
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2004
  7. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Glade we could help some ixtreme.

    Nephilim, Thats a good question. I would think dma only comes into play with internal drives working off the IDE sockets. Only thing I can think of that might effect external drives would if USB 1 or 2. USB 2 has a faster transfer rate than 1 I think. I never used firewire so I'm lost there.
    Jerry
     
  8. ixtreme

    ixtreme Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi Nephilim and Jerry746
    About the external dvd writer i was using this on a usb1 port and the unit was running at 2x i decided to get a usb2 port and have noticed that the unit is now running at 4x will have to see if there is a difference when i next do a film
    Regards
    Eldon
     
  9. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Well thank you both! It makes perfect sense. I suspected as much, but then again one never knows without having used an external.

    Glad you're gettin 4X now, ixtreme :)
     

Share This Page