1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DMR E85H Capacitor Replacement

Discussion in 'DVD recorders' started by 5bucks, Jun 11, 2009.

1. 5bucks

5bucks Member

Capacitor replacement success in DMR E85H! - A long and detailed story.

So I come home last week to find my favorite piece of electronic gear the Panasonic DMR E85H is completely dead. it's acting as if it's not plugged in at all. I take the cover off the unit hoping it's just the fuse. No such luck the fuse is fine. So I do the google search and come across the wealth of info on afterdawn.com. A few years back I'd done the firmware upgrade but had not had a problem with the unit since.

My search landed me around page 63 of the site. Within a couple minutes I found the info on the bad capacitors at 1270 and 1271 on the power board. Figured it was worth checking the capacitors in my unit. I'm no electronics expert. In fact until this repair I had never once even attempted replacing a component at the board level. I've worked in professional video post-production for about 25 years. From time to time I have done soldering of audio connectors and patch panels but am by no means an expert with an iron.

With nothing to lose, I disassembled the unit. The cover comes off with 3 screws on the back and the 2 silver ones on the sides. Once off, remove 2 screws holding down the top of the hard drive carrier and 1 screw holding the hard drive ribbon cable to the carrier. I then removed the power connector to the hard drive and flipped the drive upside down and let it sit on top of the DVD drive. I then removed the 4 screws holding the bottom of the hard drive carrier to reveal the power board. And there they were - 2 capacitors with mild bulges and a bit of brown goo on the tops.