1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DMS3 won't boot

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by bluekazoo, Nov 11, 2004.

  1. bluekazoo

    bluekazoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've been using my DMS3 for about a year now, but recently I tried installing hdd-explorer. The install failed, so I reset the PS2. Now the DMS3 won't work and only shows a black screen when I turn on the PS2, but if I hold the eject button down to disable the chip, it boots (of course it will only play original games).

    What can I do to fix this? Do I have to get a new chip?
     
  2. nrk4594

    nrk4594 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Try re-flashing the chip.


    1) Burn a good clean copy of the appropriate firmware to CDR.
    2) Put the CD into your ps2, and turn the power off.
    3) Reset your firmware to the default temporarily. Do this by: Power-on the console using reset. When the blue light comes on, press reset. Repeat this procedure 4 times.
    4) Wait until the flashing program is launched, and the chip is re-flashed (hopefully successful this time!)
     
  3. bluekazoo

    bluekazoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Great! This fixed it. Thanks.
     
  4. nrk4594

    nrk4594 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you ever have anymore problems with the dms chip, check out the dms forums.

    web02063.prolocation.net/phpBB2/index.php
     
  5. FocusRS

    FocusRS Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hello nrk4594
    i have the same problem as bluekazoo
    with the black screen by using a dms3 in a PS2 V7
    tried to solve the problem with your instruction,
    doesn´t work.
    perhaps i am using the wrong firmware?
    were can i get the right one
    and would you please explane step 3 of your instruction
    for newbees, please?

    Thank a lot...
     
  6. nrk4594

    nrk4594 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26




    1) Burn a good clean copy of the appropriate firmware to CDR
    I am using flash 2.2.
    http://www.dms3.com/dms3/files/chips/DMS3_Flash_Upgrades/dms_upgrade_2_2_bincue.zip
    Unzip and burn to cdr. Try burning at 4x.

    2) Put the CD into your ps2, and turn the power off.

    3) Reset your firmware to the default temporarily.

    a)Start with the machine off
    b)Turn the power switch to the right. The reset button will light up red.
    c)Push the reset button. The color will change to green. Shortly thereafter, the eject button will turn blue.
    d)Push the reset button 4 more times. You have to wait until the eject button turns blue for each time you push the reset button.
    e)After that, the cd-r will boot up.

    4) Wait until the flashing program is launched, and the chip is re-flashed (hopefully successful this time!)


     
  7. FocusRS

    FocusRS Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thank a lot for your declaration! But the problem's still actually..do I have to connect my MemoryCard while flashing my chip?

    I just downloaded the firmware from ur link above and unpacked the files, so no I've got the files like on a original PS1/PS2-Game. Next, burnt it with 4x..but the chip doesn't work..

    Please help me, I know, it's a nerve-racking business, but u seem to be my only chance..:-(

    Greetz, Manu
     
  8. nrk4594

    nrk4594 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Try again with your memory card inserted in memory card slot 1 and a controller inserted into controller port 1.
     

Share This Page