1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DMS4 EZI Lite Solderless modchip

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by Krystovar, Apr 19, 2005.

  1. Krystovar

    Krystovar Regular member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Has anyone installed one of these solderless mods? I have a V-10 w/fliptop and I hardly ever play my PS2 anymore because I hate swapping discs. If this works well, I'd go for this so I could direct boot.

    Is anyone currently using one of these or have any thoughts on it?
     
  2. chaseacej

    chaseacej Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I installed 2 pro versions. Install was very easy went smooth both are still running.
     
  3. chaseacej

    chaseacej Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nearly takes as long to take the ps2 apart as it does install the modchip. Just read the instructions and you will be fine.
     
  4. GroveBoy

    GroveBoy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yea...I had a little trouble...I left the screws out of the heavy metal shield, (only over the main clip)
    And I also put some electrical tape over the main clip and the bios clip.

    Been working great going on 2 months now. its AWESOME!
     
  5. Krystovar

    Krystovar Regular member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks for the replies. I am going to order one tonight.
     
  6. Krystovar

    Krystovar Regular member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I ordered mine this weekend. Does it come ready to play backups, or will I have to flash the bios with something in order to get it to work?

    I thought it comes with the right bios already but another post I read here said that it needs to be flashed before it will function properly.
     
  7. chaseacej

    chaseacej Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It has to be flashed with either ToxicOS for the pro version or ToxicBIOS for the lite version. Go to the dms3.com forums and they are downloadable under third party flash upgrades.
     
  8. Krystovar

    Krystovar Regular member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Great. Thanks for the help.
     
  9. sumair

    sumair Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey i just bought the DMS4 EZI Pro, and installed it and got all the LED lights to turn green. now what?
     
  10. jonbath

    jonbath Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    turn your ps2 on at the back,whilst holding the square button on the controller,press the reset button-you should get a message saying "dms 4 disabled" if so the chip is working.
    now you have to flash your bios with toxic.
     
  11. sumair

    sumair Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sorry i'm new at this, but how do i flash the bios with toxic?
    and what do i do with the harddrive and hd loader programs?
     
  12. sumair

    sumair Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok i did what you said earlier, and got the screen to say "DMS4 disabled Please Reset" so now that i've got that done, what else needs to be done. and also during the installation i accidently broke of the wire to the fan and can't remember where that goes.
     
  13. GroveBoy

    GroveBoy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well first off....thats not good. You need to get that fixed.

    Second, you need to flash the chip. Goto the forum listed in one of the post above, and D/L the Toxic OS. Then burn that to a CD and run it in the PS2. That will flash the BIOS and then youll be ready to go.
     
  14. Krystovar

    Krystovar Regular member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes, you need to fix the fan. If you don't, then the PS2 will overheat and shut down. If you do it too often, you could fry the processor and your PS2 will be worthless.

    You can go here to see how I fixed my fan using a USB cable.

    http://bradnkristy.com/PS2fan/
     

Share This Page