1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dms4 Ezi se lite Red Screen Of Death - HELP PLEASE!

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by prinn, Apr 24, 2007.

  1. prinn

    prinn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Moments ago I had successfully assembled the DMS4 EZI Se Lite Modchip and flashed it with ToxicBIOS 1.4 on my V14 Slim PS2. I decided after playing a DVD-9 backup copy God Of War 2 that I wanted to stupidly mess around with the configuration settings in the bios. I restarted the PS2 and held down the square button to get into the configuration menu. I saw that there was a "boot to memory card option", I think it is also called something like "Devolution mode 1" too, or something to that nature. Anyway, I changed the setting, saved the settings, and restarted the PS2. No my dismay, I was met with a big red screen upon boot. I thought it was the memory card, so I pulled it out, put it back in, and tried restarting the console again - no go. After that, I tried to get into the configuration menu in hopes of resetting the option change - couldn't get to the menu. As a last resort, I pulled "JUST THE DMS4 MODCHIP" and everything boots up like normal. Now my question is: Is there anyway I can get back to playing backups with my modchip? Another thing I forgot to mention was that I have just the standard 8Mb sony memory card.
     
  2. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
  3. prinn

    prinn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the info, but I have already tried pressing the buttons at startup and reflashing. They all result will nill unfortunatly.
     
  4. prinn

    prinn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Please help...
     
  5. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    If the chip is installed right you should be able to flash it again. I had a friend with the exact same problem. He chose a setting that he should not have and he got the RSOD, so he just reflashed it back to the default settings and all was fine.
    It could be loading up the screens you need but because of the red screen you are just not seeing them.
     
  6. prinn

    prinn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried to install the flash again, but no go. It seems like it reads the flash disk; however, when I put in a regular movie I doesn't seem to read the disk.
     
  7. vcbc

    vcbc Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    DMS 4 RSOD... This happens to me all the time... stupid bug errors in ToxicOS/Bios. Have u try the 3x reset?

    you put in the ToxicOS/Bios disk and you press reset from standby and then press it 3x with 1 second between the resets. When it says Press X to continue, press and hold R1 R2 L1 L2 and press X.
     
  8. prinn

    prinn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    That 3x trick works with DMS4?
     
  9. prinn

    prinn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK, well I tried the 3x reset trick and it worked. Reflashed with ToxisBios 1.4 and everything seem OK until I put in a game. It will not read anything. It will try to read it, but will fail. Anyone with the same problem please help.
     

Share This Page