1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DMS4 MODCHIP PS2 V12 MAJOR PROBLEM

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by sun82, Jan 8, 2005.

  1. sun82

    sun82 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    about 3 weeks ago I got a ps2 slimline v12 and I had purchased a dms4 modchip as well. I found a step by step guide with good pictures on how to install it. After the installation was successful I of course turned it on and when I did the power LED went from red to green and then like 2 seconds later it turned red again. During this phase I saw nothing on the screen and there was no activity whatsoever in the dvd tray.

    After unsoldering the dms4 off of the ps2 I tried to turn it on again and the same problem resumes. It seems that it's fried but nothing smoked up or gave me any unusual indication that something bad was going to happen. PLEASE HELP ME!!
     
  2. lloth29

    lloth29 Guest

    Hi:) I was wondering if you solved your problem? I have a similar problem with my v7 and dms4 lite. My light doesn't turn red, stays green but nothing else happens. No ps2 logo, nothing except my blank blue video screen.
     
  3. sun82

    sun82 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sorry, but as of yet I'm still not sure what to do next. Somebody's gotta know!
     
  4. glaze

    glaze Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I had the same problem with a v7, but I'm sure its the same problem with the v12. A fuse must have blown. Check all of em, you should get minimal resistance, if you don't, then the fuse is probably dead. My bet is PS14, thats what blew on mine.
     
  5. sun82

    sun82 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Do you remember where/how did you purchase this fuse in order to replace it? Upon receiving this fuse, I should have no problem replacing it due to the fact that I already know how to solder it.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  6. glaze

    glaze Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i just canabalized the fuse from another part of the board, make sure its the same fuse, and replace the fuse you stole with a wire connecting to the two solder points, and put the fuse on the pad that had blown. Should work. Or if you don't want to do that, you can always go to a little electronics store with your fuse and see if they carry it.
     

Share This Page