1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DMS4 Pro Ezi install.... I Need Help

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by jynx1230, Feb 7, 2007.

  1. jynx1230

    jynx1230 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Alright, So I installed a DMS4 pro in my PS2 and it wouldn't work. I tried and tried to figure out what the problem was but i couldn't figure it out. So i decided to try a different box and see if i couldn't get it to work in a different box. Now the other box is getting a BSOD. So I unplug the the chip (leave the connectors there and i still get a BSOD. Any help figuring out what is wrong with this would be nice. If even to at least get the second PS2 working.
     
  2. jenko6a

    jenko6a Guest

    sounds like a faulty chip. Those solderless chips are know for being very unreliable.
     
  3. jynx1230

    jynx1230 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well i took it out of the PS2 and it's still broke. I see a flash when i turn on the screen. but that's it. Also i don't know if this is important but the blue light on the eject button isn't on. It also won't eject the disc tray.
     
  4. raiderj

    raiderj Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Bad fuse(s)?
     
  5. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    Yet another DMS4 disaster. The EZI's are known for this kind of thing. At this point you should search out a pro.
     
  6. jynx1230

    jynx1230 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I checked all the fuses. everything is good... I'm wondering if there is something wrong with the DSP chip. Do these tend to burn out?
     
  7. raiderj

    raiderj Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't really hear of them burning out too often, but they are also hard to diagnose (I don't know how myself).

    Basically if the system doesn't work once all the modchip items are pulled, you're stuck with getting a new motherboard.
     
  8. Krystovar

    Krystovar Regular member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    A lot of people here posted about problems with the EZI, but I installed one a couple years ago in my V10 and for what it's worth I didn't have any problems with installation or running. They say that because the no-solder clips have such small parts that sometimes the pins get bent, or even installing and removing them too much can cause the pins to bend or break.

    However since it's still not working after you removed the chip, check to make sure you didn't leave anything unplugged when you were removing the chip. If there's no blue light on the eject button, maybe you forgot to remove the eject harness that came with the chip? Just a thought. Otherwise I don't know what I can say other than to maybe check out the DMS forums.
     
  9. jynx1230

    jynx1230 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I think the box is toasted. The eject button still turns it on but no light on it. I'm sending the chip back for a new one and hoping to get a new chip back.
     
  10. c4pher

    c4pher Guest

    Have you managed to find the cause of the problem? I have the same problem in that I have no blue light, however, I can turn the PS2 on by using the eject button so I think that the cable is OK. I have checked the fuses and I think that I might have a blown 50 fuse if not a BA5815 chip. Am interested to hear if you have cured your prob. The chip installed is a Messiah I think. CD tray does not eject either
     
  11. jynx1230

    jynx1230 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No i never was able to figure out what was wrong. I checked all of my fuses and they all appeared to be fine. Didn't think about checking the BA5815 chip. Although that is an idea. I pretty much just wrote it up as a lost and went and bought a new one. I've been trying to find other broken PS2's to use for parts to fix this one.
     
  12. c4pher

    c4pher Guest

    What part are you after? I might be able to help you Let me know. I might be able to get hold of a BA5815FM chip if you are interested
     
  13. mharville

    mharville Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    are there any instruction manuals with the white flat wires? I only see the chips with multiple color round wires.
     
  14. jynx1230

    jynx1230 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  15. mharville

    mharville Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am getting ready to install a lite. Ive read that lite's can't play some games. All i want to play are copies of games on dvdr's and off a hdd. can it?
     
  16. jynx1230

    jynx1230 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    as far as i know it can. From my understanding the only difference between the pro and lite is the how much room it has for the bios. So i think it all depends on the bios you put on it.
     
  17. raiderj

    raiderj Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    For just backups, the Lite is fine.
     

Share This Page