1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNAS and online play

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by bighitz50, Jan 8, 2005.

1. bighitz50

bighitz50 Member

I'm new to the backing up thing. If I have a patched backup, can I play it online? I read some of the forums, and I'm getting mixed messages. What is the purpose of patching a game. I've also used disc id utitlity to get the dnas numbers. Ever game that I put in gives me the same DiscId number. Is that suppose to happen?

2. sly_61019

sly_61019 Senior member

yes, you can play it online if you patch it with the dnas id. if your getting the same id every time, your not doing it right. what exact steps are you taking?

3. bighitz50

bighitz50 Member

I'm doing it according to ps2nfo site. I use swap magic, then a cdr of disc utility, then the orignal. When I put other games in, I do not reboot. Can that be the problenm?

4. sly_61019

sly_61019 Senior member

maybe, are you using the eject button to put the originals in? Also, are you sure these games have dnas?

5. bighitz50

bighitz50 Member

I have a flip top. How do i find out if it has dnas? I thought that if they are online games they must have dnas.

6. bighitz50

bighitz50 Member

I have a flip top. How do i find out if it has dnas? I thought that if they are online games they must have dnas.

7. sly_61019

sly_61019 Senior member

Kinda, older online games don't have dnas, but anything within the last year and a half have it.

8. ducatis

ducatis Guest

remember if its a dvd orginal you have to use the dvd disc id util.

9. sly_61019

sly_61019 Senior member

thats not true ducatis

10. ducatis

ducatis Guest

wtf are you on about. you have to use the DVD version of Disc Id Util for dvd based games and the CD version for CD based games.

11. sly_61019

sly_61019 Senior member