1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do certain TVs have problems with PS2 DVD backups?

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by KsEdge, Apr 22, 2005.

1. KsEdge

KsEdge Member

Hey all,

First post, so I hope you'll forgive me if this has been asked before (I've searched everywhere but can't seem to find any info on it) but here goes.

I'm having a really strange problem when playing backups of PS2 games. I'm a student and at the place I'm currently living in, we have a 28" Sony TV, I can't give you the exact model number as I don't know it I'm afraid, but it's not a brand new one, I'd say it's probably close to 8 years old at a guess, maybe a couple years more.

Anyway, I've burned Fight Night Round 2 (USA), Street Fighter Anniversary Edition (USA), Pro Evolution Soccer 4 (PAL) and WWE Smackdown vs Raw (PAL) and they work perfectly here on this TV with Swap Magic 3.3. However, when I took my PS2 to my friends house and tried it on the TVs in their place (Goodmans, Philips and Toshiba respectively) the only game that would load was Pro Evolution Soccer 4. The rest would load into Swap Magic 3.3's loading screen, I'd swap the discs and press X, it'd go black like it was loading the game and then nothing. The disc would keep spinning, but the game wouldnt load. The laser also doesn't move on games when it's loading them, where as with Pro Evo 4 it moves erratically as it reads the disc (as it should).

This has me completely baffled, as surely if they work on one TV surely they should work on all of them right? All the TVs are of roughly the same age, in fact the Toshiba one is newer, but they all exhibit the same problem.

The media I used is a cheap brand called "Intenso", they're DVD-R and they seem to be a really high quality media despite the price. Games that wouldn't work when I burned them to a bunch of "supposed" Ritek G04s work flawlessly on these Intenso discs.