1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DO I HAVE A VIRUS?? - NO NETWORK CONNECTIONS

Discussion in 'Windows - Virus and spyware problems' started by dougal79, Nov 27, 2007.

  1. dougal79

    dougal79 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ive been having problems with my internet for the last few days.
    I went to network connections & there was nothing in the folder.

    I then went to start, run, cmd & typed in ipconfig/all

    This is what came up [​IMG]

    Do i have a virus or other??

    I run nod32, spybot, adaware, zonealarm & spyware doctor.

    Any help is appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. harold300

    harold300 Guest

    Do you have DSL?
    Have u tried going to taskmanger and seeing if the drviers are installed? Have u installed any new programs?

    Have u downloaded windows defender?

    What windows are u running?
     
  3. dougal79

    dougal79 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Im using Windows XP Pro with starter pack 2 & all updates.
    I installed all the drivers from the broadband cd (BT Broadband).
    I had to reinstall windows & installed a few things like winrar,
    & all anitivirus/antispyware programs.

    I dont have windows defender!!

    Thanks
     
  4. harold300

    harold300 Guest

    Try uninstalling and reinstalling the softwear. If this does not work make sure u go to TaskManger and make sure it says that ur network drivers are installed. Are u using eathernet or usb?

    and download windows defender, free download just google it.
     
  5. dougal79

    dougal79 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    OK ive uninstalled & reinstalled almost everything,
    network drivers are installed & checked all running proccesses with
    the proccess library, so no problems there.

    Im using the ethernet cable as its faster than usb.
    I downloaded & installed windows defender but dont know how to use it.

    Thanks for the help so far guys.
     
  6. harold300

    harold300 Guest

    Windows is a good spywear program. Free from microsoft...but all u do is open defender and and run the scan. Defender will run every night around 1am. But sounds like something is blocking ur network adapter. do u have another computer u can hook up and hook ur modem to that computer and see if it works? If so try that, when did this problem start? Did u install any new programs? U might have to reformat ur HDD. Try system restore, restore to a point before this problem started. This may help
     
  7. dougal79

    dougal79 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Oops it seems i lost Windows Defender & ended up with the WGA plugin.

    Anyway, i ran a scan & it didnt find anything.

    I dont have another pc to try out.
    This started about 2 weeks ago.

    I had to reinstall windows & all my programs,
    but i currently have only my graphics & sound drivers installed, along with Utorrent, Winrar, Firefox & AVGFree.

    Ive reformatted my HDD everytime this happens & it just keeps happening.
    Tried system restore but it didnt work.
    Thanks
     
  8. harold300

    harold300 Guest

    damn dude sounds like a damn problem to me..lol thats really shity this keeps happing. Try using the USB and see if that works. U might have a problem with the eathernet cable hook up on ur board/card. I would try the USB and see if that works if u havent already. When u reformat ur HDD does everything work right??
     
  9. dougal79

    dougal79 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I tried the usb cable but still have the problem.

    To load most pages in IE or Firefox i have to keep hitting Refresh.
    Its as if somethings stopping the page from loading.

    Ive posted this on a few forums along with HijackThis Logs,
    but no one seems to know whats going on..

    When i reformat my HDD everything goes fine.
    I even tried not installing anything except GFX & sound drivers,
    Then going straight on the internet.

    That seems to be the only way round it, but i obviously cant leave it like that...

    Thanks so far mate
     
  10. harold300

    harold300 Guest

    Have u tried to manage ur add-ons in IE?? This may help, not sure my brother had a simaler problem and this worked. Disable everything with yahoo and the ones that are not verified. Disable them and the restart IE. Worth a shot, if u dont care post a hijacklog for me. Ill take a look at it for ya. Or very well know some one who would know.


    Ur welcome
     
  11. dougal79

    dougal79 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    All the add-ons in IE are from microsoft.

    Here is my HIjackThis log:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
    Scan saved at 08:34:53, on 04/12/2007
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows Defender\MsMpEng.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\CTHELPER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Xbox 360 Accessories\XboxStat.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows Defender\MSASCui.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wscntfy.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger\usnsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live\WLLoginProxy.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\Program Files\BitTorrent\bittorrent.exe
    C:\Program Files\uTorrent\uTorrent.exe
    D:\Programs\Security Programs\Hi-Jack This\HijackThis_v1.99.1.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.google.co.uk/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection Wizard,ShellNext = http://www.utorrent.com/testport.php?port=30703
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {7E853D72-626A-48EC-A868-BA8D5E23E045} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: Windows Live Sign-in Helper - {9030D464-4C02-4ABF-8ECC-5164760863C6} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live\WindowsLiveLogin.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CTHelper] CTHELPER.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [XboxStat] "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Xbox 360 Accessories\XboxStat.exe" silentrun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Windows Defender] "C:\Program Files\Windows Defender\MSASCui.exe" -hide
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunOnce: [KB926239] rundll32.exe apphelp.dll,ShimFlushCache
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MsnMsgr] "C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe" /background
    O4 - Global Startup: VIA RAID TOOL.lnk = C:\Program Files\VIA\RAID\raid_tool.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Winter Fun Wallpaper Changer.lnk = ?
    O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://www.update.microsoft.com/win...ls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1196740373593
    O16 - DPF: {6E32070A-766D-4EE6-879C-DC1FA91D2FC3} (MUWebControl Class) - http://www.update.microsoft.com/mic...ls/en/x86/client/muweb_site.cab?1196743849718
    O18 - Protocol: livecall - {828030A1-22C1-4009-854F-8E305202313F} - C:\PROGRA~1\WI1F86~1\MESSEN~1\MSGRAP~1.DLL
    O18 - Protocol: msnim - {828030A1-22C1-4009-854F-8E305202313F} - C:\PROGRA~1\WI1F86~1\MESSEN~1\MSGRAP~1.DLL
    O18 - Protocol: wlmailhtml - {03C514A3-1EFB-4856-9F99-10D7BE1653C0} - C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Mail\mailcomm.dll
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: WgaLogon - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WgaLogon.dll
    O21 - SSODL: WPDShServiceObj - {AAA288BA-9A4C-45B0-95D7-94D524869DB5} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\WPDShServiceObj.dll
    O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe

     
  12. harold300

    harold300 Guest

    Everything looks good to me from what i can tell. Im gonna have my buddy come and take a look at it. Id say he can help ya, good luck and ill send him ur way. Just keep checking in to see if any new post ahe been posted. Good Luck
     
  13. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Basically using IPv6 instead of IPv4
    --------------------

    (From Microsoft.com)
    To uninstall IPv6 from a computer using the command prompt
    1. Open Command Prompt.

    2. At the command prompt, type ipv6 uninstall, and then press ENTER.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2007
  14. dougal79

    dougal79 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So you're saying i should uninstall IPv6 & install IPv4?

    I think it may have something to do with my DNS,
    cos when i try to go on the internet & it doesnt work,
    i delete all cookies & go to network connections & select repair.
    It used to do everything except renew the DNS, but now it works...
    After i do this it usually works.

    Thanks for the help guys..
     

Share This Page