1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does a 64bit processor really make all the difference?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by indienemo, Sep 19, 2004.

  1. indienemo

    indienemo Guest

    Hi, I was wondering this because I am going to buy a new PC soon. I can either buy a 3.2ghz Pentium 4 inside a vapochill case (and a abit mobo with the i875p chipset), or can buy a 3200+ athlon64 fx, cpu and mobo (nforce 3 chipset). Please can you tell me which would provide better benchamrks and performance, as the P4 is technically a lot faster, but only 32-bit.
     
  2. wizard479

    wizard479 Guest

    Well, right now the new P4 Extreme edition procs are running faster than the AMD's. As far ast he 64-bit part.....they dont have any software out yet to take advantage of the 64-bit power. Unlesds you're running some serious server os or something, the 64-bit proc would just be bragging rights. The AMD 64 does however outperform its 32-bit Athlon siblings, but if you're looking for bang for the buck, get a p4 Extreme Edition, which is basically a P4 standard with 1 MB of L2 cache insead of 512kb. Until the software catches up with the hardware stick with 32 bit for now, unless ya just wanna brag.
     
  3. indienemo

    indienemo Guest

    well, i kind of do wanna brag, but only a lil bit, id gladly have double the speed @ 32bit i think. But tbh, it would be kind of hard to brag around my mates as they all are getting 100+fps on cs:source!
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]CPU: AMD athlon 2800+ XP
    Motherboard: Quasar(MSI) MS-6786
    RAM: 768mb 2700 DDR
    GFX: 128mb Geforce FX5900XT (overclocked)
    HDD: Seagate 120GB, 7200rpm[/small]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 26, 2004
  4. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you are upgrading now then i would get the 64 bit amd because not too far from now companys will bring out more 64 bit software. And the p4 extreme doesnt run much faster than the amd 64 so its best to go for the amd 64 for the future.

    Also amd is better for gaming and video editing.
     
  5. indienemo

    indienemo Guest

    Does anybody know what kind of FSB the pentium 4 extreme have, and would they work on a normal pentium 4 mobo?
     
  6. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It has a 800mhz fsb and it will only work with motherboards that have the same socket as the cpu.
     
  7. indienemo

    indienemo Guest

    thats what i meant... socket 478. Umm, but they dont run as fast as the AthlonFx 64 your saying ? Even if it is a lot faster technically, isnt the fastest 64bit at the moment 2.5ghz ? Plus arnt P4's a lot better for overclocking ?
     
  8. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Amd's the same as p4 really. If it was a 3200 which is 2.20ghz then it would run at about the same speed as a 3.2ghz hence the 3200.

    Im saying p4's are faster than athlon64 but not by much and i would say amd are easier to overclock.

    Also in the near future when alot of 64bit software comes out and new 64 bit os the p4 wont be able to use none of it so it wont be up to date so you are best to get a amd64.
     
  9. indienemo

    indienemo Guest

    So pour example, an athlon64fx 3400+ or whatever, runs at the same speed as a P4 at 3.4ghz? Cos then if you managed to overclock the 64fx to 3ghz wouldnt that be like the equivalent to a P4 @ 4ghz?
     
  10. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Doubt you would overclock the 3400 to 3ghz i think it runs at 2.4ghz.
     
  11. indienemo

    indienemo Guest

    you could with vapochill? Only problem is there is no cheap vapochills for that socket yet, I have been offered a Vapochill PE, an abit overclockers mobo, and a 2.6ghz P4, which runs stabley inside the vapochill @ 3.4ghz for 300GBP ($600), if I got the 64fx I wouldnt be able to overclock it by much.. so thatd kinda suck
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]CPU: AMD athlon 2800+ XP
    Motherboard: Quasar(MSI) MS-6786
    RAM: 768mb 2700 DDR
    GFX: 128mb Geforce FX5900XT (overclocked)
    HDD: Seagate 120GB, 7200rpm[/small]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 20, 2004

Share This Page