1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does Shrink recognize if original is scratched?

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by nmr1279, Mar 9, 2005.

  1. nmr1279

    nmr1279 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sometimes when I rent or borrow movies, at some point the dvd will stall/stutter, etc b/c it is scratched or damaged. I was wondering if DVDShrink will recognize when a dvd is damaged or scratched when it is analyzing or encoding. Or is there a some program out there that will find scratches before you write a disk?
    Thanks!
     
  2. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    All the ripping programs will give you a CRC error if they encounter a bad enough scratch. They are just saying they can't read past the damage. You can sometimes get errors from corrupt data on a dvd even though the disc looks perfect with no damage. The disc is being read with a beam of light so any imperfection will stop the process if bad enough.

    Jerry
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2005
  3. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    ...not to mention the pesky protections, some of which emulate crc errors, either deliberately or cus theyre craply written :)

    Rich
     
  4. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
  5. Mr_Del

    Mr_Del Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have managed to copy a few DVD that were scratched bad enough to not play. The player gives me Disc read error or something like that, on the original. The copies work fine. Almost like I removed the damage to the original. If your talking serious gouges then I don't think much of anything will help.

    So yes it is possible but not in all cases. Just try and see what happens. If it will not work then it will not fully rip.

    Good luck
    -Del
     
  6. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    You can try: dvd decrypter
    It's a more powerful ripper and it is also free. Some members had luck using this for damaged discs. You want to go into it's edit/preference tab and set it up for "rip with brute force" and "ignore all read errors".

    Dvd shrink will give you a "crc" cyclitical reduncancy check error on damaged discs.Dvd shrink will usually error out on the intitial-quick analysis phase,but sometimes on the encoding phase.

    Also like creeky posted, the newer encryptions are also giving us that crc error.

    Look at bbmayo's signature, there are some great guides there for dvd decrypter ,just click on the blue link.

    You can also get a disc repair kit like the skip doctor. I have backed up some scratched up discs and had others that only had a couple scratches that wouldn't back up. Good Luck
     
  7. djlen

    djlen Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    'You want to go into it's edit/preference tab and set it up for "rip with brute force" and "ignore all read errors".'

    saugmon - Where exactly is this 'edit/preference tab'?
    I'm finding it nowhere!!

    Len
     
  8. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I believe he meant to say "Tools" and then "Settings"

    Right saugman ;-)
     
  9. djlen

    djlen Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Man bb, I thought I was the only one up at this time of the morning.:)
    OK, as long as you're there.....'tools; settings' and I would assume, ISO Read Mode, but there's nothing in there related to 'rip with brute force' or 'ignore all read errors'.
    I feel like an idiot, first because I'm trying to back up what appears to be an un-backup-able disc, and second, because even with you folks taking me by the hand I can't take the ball and run with it.
    What am I missing?

    Len
     
  10. bigwop

    bigwop Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Tools--->settings---->CSS
     
  11. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    bbmayo is correct, It's been a while since I used it to try to backup a couple of my damaged discs. Dvd decrypter don't like me,lol. Good Luck
     
  12. djlen

    djlen Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Okay, even with brute force the dang thing won't rip.
    Time to cut my losses and look for another copy.
    Thanks for the help guys.

    Len
     
  13. Mr_Del

    Mr_Del Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Rent it
     
  14. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Steal it!!! LOL
     

Share This Page