1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does Windows need to be reinstalled

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by Bartmole, Jan 31, 2014.

  1. Bartmole

    Bartmole Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I changed my Motherboard and CPU from AMD to Intel but have no issue booting to my existing install or general use, far as I can tell, but have always been under the impression that a new Motherboard meant a fresh install of Windows; posting on it now, in fact. And does an image taken before the change constitute a fresh install or should I start again from the install DVD? Doesn't seem any faster though which is a bit of a surprise (3.2 AMD - 3.4 Intel). Thankyou
     
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. rulisky

    rulisky Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you are not having any issues, why bother to reinstall? Although you could. An image is not a fresh install, only a copy. Going from 3.2 to 3.4 speed is NOT a big enough change to be noticed.

    When I updated the last time I went from a quad 2.2 to a hex 3.2 -- That change would be noticeable.
     
  4. aldan

    aldan Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    48
    you will most definitely have to do a clean install.the driver conflicts alone will cause you untold grief.ive seen problems caused by this on other forums,and without a clean install,they dont have a happy ending.best to backup your data and get out your install disk.
     
  5. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Normal procedure is to install the OS then chipset drivers for the new mobo. They will not be the same for an Intel mobo as for an AMD.
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,857
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    windows usually barfs if not reinstalled after a different chipset motherboard is installed.
     
  7. aldan

    aldan Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    48
    now thats the term i was looking for.
     
  8. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Me too!
     
  9. Bartmole

    Bartmole Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Reinstall it is, thankyou for your time. Not sure I could deal with a "barfing" computer.
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,857
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    don't blame you as it is not pretty especially when cleaning up the mess.
     
  11. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,380
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Don't forget to use an imaging program to NOW start making backup images apart from ghost,acronis which are able to transfer to differential hardware (Paid)& yes it works,there's also easeus todo back which is free or at least it was some of the stuff has been deactivated for the free version ,the rest you can web search for

    1 image isn't enough neither is 1 image on only one hdd enough,you'll regret if you don't start imaging
     
  12. Bartmole

    Bartmole Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No concerns there, have used ATI for years, also Ghost years ago and Macrium Reflect Free in the last few years too.True Image has saved my butt a number of times and I restore up to several times a day just trying out new programs I don't keep, can't even imagine not using it.
     
  13. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,380
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    If a software test install doesn't require a reboot you may find sandboxie useful
     
  14. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Or, Acronis "Try & Decide"
     
  15. Bartmole

    Bartmole Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sandboxie would be useful, I wasn't even aware there was a free version, have tried Returnil in the past which seems similar. Not familiar with Try & Decide, have to look into it but ATI is so fast, SSD is even faster yet, that I'm back in minutes, only one faster that I found was Macrium but it doesn't restore to a smaller partition which is important to me, think IFW by Terabyte was pretty fast too. No, trialled version 6 of ATI and never looked back, their support can suck though good forum help. Good job in the malware section too, 2oldGeek, learned a lot there, your knowledge on the subject is rather impressive.
     
  16. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Good judgement comes from experience, and experience comes from a lot of poor judgement. lol

    Thanks for the flowers, Bartmole, I'll remember you in my will...... I'll leave you half the malware I've collected for 20+ years..

    [​IMG]
     
  17. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,857
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    if keyboard not found, how did you type this?
     
  18. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Turn on the screen keyboard, hello!
     
  19. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,857
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    can't hear you as i don't have the speakers plugged in!!!
     
  20. Bartmole

    Bartmole Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks but think I'll pass, send them to somebody who really deserves them, lol.
     
  21. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I don't think I have enough to go around..[​IMG]
     

Share This Page