1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Doesn't work for me

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by tbbd, Jan 7, 2005.

  1. tbbd

    tbbd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I read all the posts here and did some research and it doesn't work for me.

    I can backup DVD movies all day with no problems. Using Plextor -R+R, rewrite dual layer drive. Memorex 8x -R media. And yes they work great for my movies in my PS2 if I burn at slowest speed possible (usually 4x)

    Ok, So I got DVD Decrypter, ISO read and rip the PS2 Game to my hard drive. The game has the DVD ROM logo on it, so I assume that means its a DVD game instead of a CD game. Then, I choose ISO, Write and burn the file to DVD using 1x write speed.
    Put tha game in and get the error to insert a PS2 formated disc.

    The game I am trying to backup is Gadget Racers. It is a hard game to find and I want to make sure I have a copy of it to use instead of risking damaging the original.

    Any suggestions.
     
  2. chrisosx

    chrisosx Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you need Swap Magic Disk which you can get at swapmagic3.com or anywhere else. or you can get the much harder to mod ps2, MOD-CHIPS. So you can't boot a PS2 game without some modification (SMD is a minor Mod).

    Good Luck!
    Chris
     
  3. tbbd

    tbbd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    oh, I didn't realize you had to buy extra hardware for your system. I did try the game shark thing, boot it up then try to start the game with no codes, but it just locks up. O well.
     
  4. chrisosx

    chrisosx Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well its not really hardware.. its basically software with a swap card. check out the site! its really awesome to play backups and things.

    Good Luck!
    Chris
     
  5. tbbd

    tbbd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok, I checked out the site...what do I need to get, the Swap Magic software and the slide tool...or just the software?
     
  6. chrisosx

    chrisosx Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what version ps2 do you have? or just tell me the code thing (SCPH-300001 or somethin)
     
  7. tbbd

    tbbd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    SCPH 30001.that what it says on the back
     
  8. tbbd

    tbbd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    also, what's a good site to buy it from...I tried a few of thos links, the first one has the combo for @20, but it;s $20 shipping, lol.
     
  9. chrisosx

    chrisosx Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    im not sure what u should get.. i suggest getting the flip top though.. its better .. which is what im using.
     
  10. scott2453

    scott2453 Guest

    If you want to keep your warranty intact then go with swap magic, as this requires no modifications to the hardware. just one more thing to consider
     
  11. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    check out this site www.swapmagic3.com as chris suggested.
    this can be used on your ps2 version
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2005

Share This Page