1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dose the swap magic work with the new ps2 ???

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by mc_unique, Nov 18, 2004.

  1. mc_unique

    mc_unique Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I want to get myself a new design ps2 but am sceptical becouse i am not sure if the swap magic and slide card will work with the new ps2.
    anyone!!!
    ps. if there is a way could you also give me a thread to how to do it. weather it be the same wa where you have to take out the slide tray with the card etc...
     
  2. lxhotboy

    lxhotboy Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I bought a new slim ps2 recently and mine still works with the swap magic(V2.0). As to playing the games, there are many ways. Some people open there units but i chose not to void my warranty. I swap the disc out similiar to the way it was done with the original ps1 systems that did not need a chip to play backups.
     
  3. Wizardr

    Wizardr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    @lxhotboy
    How did you do that?
     
  4. tonyha

    tonyha Guest

    Hey i just bought the new ps2 slim, and like every one else i am sure that i do not want to spend all my money on buying ps2 games and i think that swap magic is great cause i do not want to put in a mod chip and void the warenty specially after hearing from so many people that sony brang out the slim ps2 to early and has faults with it. I just want to be sure that the swap magic 3.3 will work on it. I know that some people buy new covers for there ps2 which allows you to open the top to insert the cd like the slim ps2, why that is i dont know. Also i am thinking since the ps2 slimline opens up to put in your game, does that still mean that we have to use the slide tool. IM not sure how it works. If any one out there knows anything about this please let me know.
    Thank you
     
  5. 916Prince

    916Prince Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You do have to void the warranty because you need to open your system up to do something to it...

    I think its tape one thing and break another off...not sure though...

    Slide card does not work with the new slim PS2's...there's nothing to use with the slide card, haha...
     
  6. lxhotboy

    lxhotboy Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    NO Prince, you dont have to open the system and void your warranty. I am not speaking of what i was told, i am speaking of how i myself have been playing the backup disc now for the last 2 weeks.
     
  7. mc_unique

    mc_unique Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i justfound out that there are 2 different kinds of ps2 slims. the jap version has a slide tray and the american has a popup top. i know cause i had the jap version. i traded it back for my older v7 system but what i really would like to know is how do you use it for a slim line do you just pop the top and voila???
    or wat
     
  8. epepper9

    epepper9 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    lxhotboy,
    how do you boot your backups or imports using swap magic without voiding the warranty.

    Please give a straight answer, you didn't when wizardr asked a similiar question?
     
  9. vrg

    vrg Guest

    hi
    check this page
    http://www.swapmagic3.com/

    it explained there how to do it.

    I have managed do it, but difficulty is closing the lid. so i just left it open all the time.
     

Share This Page