1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

double IDE channels

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by nytvd, Mar 23, 2005.

  1. nytvd

    nytvd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    when going into device manager in XP i see two primary IDE channels, two secondary IDE channels and two controllers. on this forum i see screen shots of people's device manager and they only have one of each - why do i have two of each - is this OK?
    this is on a dell 4600 2.6ghz


    thanks,
     
  2. StanH1000

    StanH1000 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You probably have primary and secondary IDE channels directly plugged into motherboard and an additional IDE controller card plugged into a PCI slot (which will accomodate another primary and secondary channel). Multiple drives may necessitate this type of setup.
     
  3. nytvd

    nytvd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks for the reply.
    i did not install another IDE PCI controller, only a firewire PCI card. do u think dell put another one in there? (don't think i saw it and i have opened up the case to install/replace stuff before)
     
  4. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    More than likely your computer has SATA support.
     
  5. StanH1000

    StanH1000 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks bbmayo.
    In my Sony Vaio computer the SATA hard drive is on a separate IDE controller as a Primary. The DVD burner (Primary) and DVD player (Secondary) are on the other IDE controller.
     
  6. nytvd

    nytvd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks all.
    i have two burners on one IDE cable and one HD on another cable (am adding additional 80G HD to that cable very soon)

    side note - how do i know which is which on the IDE channels ?
    i DO know that the burners are on the IDE slot that is "deeper" on the mobo and the HD is on the "outside" slot. reason i am asking is i still have something on PIO and i can't seem to snap it back to UDMA.
    burns are fast but maybe my encoding could be speeded up.

    thanks again.
     
  7. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    If you are going to get anothe mobo I would suggest you get the SATA drive it is much much faster, and looks like your mobo supports SATA, but you better check to be sure.. Also Plextor DVDRW makes a SATA drive ;-)
     
  8. nytvd

    nytvd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    no problem mixing IDE and SATA drives?
     
  9. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No not at all :)
     

Share This Page