1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

downgrading 2.60 without gta

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by xmatic, Jan 18, 2007.

  1. xmatic

    xmatic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello all, I have a psp with a 2.60 firmware on it. I have read that you need gta to downgrade. Is there any other option at this point that I can use to downgrade without the gta game umd? I don't have this game and I am anxious to downgrade. I was looking to downgrade to 1.50 or whatever version that lets' me play homebrews and iso of my backups. Is it possible to update the firmware to a higher revision and then downgrade without the need of gta? thanks in advance!
     
  2. paul91

    paul91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    best thing to do then is to update to 2.71 then downgrade to 1.5

    search psp-hacks.com for all necessary files
     
  3. xmatic

    xmatic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thanks got the tutorial but now I have the updated firware for 2.70 but where do I place the eboot file in what directory? and could I just skip the 2.70 fimware and go directly to 2.71? thanks!
     
  4. paul91

    paul91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yes you can skip out 2.70 and just upgrade straight to 2.71

    place the eboot file in x:/PSP/UPDATE (where x is drive letter of PSP)

    if UPDATE folder does not exist - create one

    remember when you update NOT to take out battery, AC adaptor etc, etc
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2007
  5. xmatic

    xmatic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks Paul! great help. I am now working on downgrading to 1.5 but after I do so how will I be able to play the iso of my own backups on it? is there a software that will load it? i forgot all about it I did this way back then when 2.0 was out. Thanks again!
     
  6. paul91

    paul91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok, so now you need to get the easy 2.71 downgrader and use that - i used the easy downgrader and everything went fine

    then, to be able to play iso's i recommend upgrading to 3.03OE-B which is one of DarkAlex's custom firmware's

    once you are on 1.5, upgrade to 3.03OE-A FIRST before you upgrade to 3.03OE-B

    use this guide for downgrading http://www.psp-hacks.com/forums/about17935.html
     
  7. xmatic

    xmatic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Basically I would like to know what's the best iso loader at this point? which would you recommend with a 1.5 fimware. I remember in the past having issues with this firmware because some games required a higher firmware and I had to spoof it with a wab system changer appz. Any clues as to what should I be looking at? By the way Paul I got it down to 1.5 with the easy downgrader. He he he sorry i forgot to mention that. Can you link me to the loader I would need?
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2007
  8. paul91

    paul91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok hang on im going to upload a devhook installer which will enable you to play you iso's

    may take a few minutes
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2007
  9. paul91

    paul91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok xmatic im uploading the devhook installer to megaupload.com and will take about 10 mins

    after that i will post the link for you ok
     
  10. xmatic

    xmatic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i was actually doing this manually and got the 3.03 oea A custom firware on it. I have devhook_ultimate_installer_v1091.exe don't know if this is the one you're trying to upload. If so I have it and what would be the next step? thanks.
     
  11. paul91

    paul91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if you have installed 3.03 OE-A then there is no need for devhook

    just create a folder on the root of your memory stick x:/ISO and put you iso's and cso's in there
     
  12. xmatic

    xmatic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    is there a way to confirm it' actually on there? and what's the dev hook for? don't you need additional loaders for the isos? Also, is there a way to compress iso into a smaller file so I can reserve more space on mem card?
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2007
  13. paul91

    paul91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    did you install 3.03 OE-A on your PSP?

    to check go to System Settings on your PSP and see what the firmware is - if you successfully upgraded, it should say 3.03OE-A

    and no, you dont need any loaders for the iso's if 3.03OE-A is installed - just put iso's and cso's in the ISO folder at the root of your memstick
     
  14. xmatic

    xmatic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I followed the inlcluded .txt read me file and got up to the point that says "3.03 OE-A maker" followed through screen went black and it looked like it was installing. After that it just went back to the main psp menus. It didn't reboot but just get out of that original black screen with white letters. ON system software i still see 1.50
     
  15. paul91

    paul91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you should try and use the easy installer

    hang on ill find the link
     
  16. paul91

    paul91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  17. paul91

    paul91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    really sorry but i have to go

    hope all goes well :)
     
  18. xmatic

    xmatic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thanks for all of your help! got it installed!
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2007
  19. paul91

    paul91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    great that you got it installed and do your iso's work?
     

Share This Page