1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Downgrading: Confession of a sad fool

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by vaustein2, Mar 8, 2007.

1. vaustein2

vaustein2 Member

As a hobbyist developer, I would love to port some of my small C++/SDL projects to PSP. After reading (not enough) about firmware downgrades, I purchased a 2.71 PSP for $199 plus a 2GB SD Pro Media Duo for $79 at Target. I also bought the Greatest Hits edition of GTA:LCS before reading about patched vs. unpatched and how to tell the difference by the disk serial number. I visited several GameStops and EBWorlds around greater Seattle, but no joy.

This is my first time I buying a handheld on impulse without planning. I spent months hanging out at homebrew/dev sites for the GP2X and Tapwave Zodiac before I bought them.

Aside from playing commercial games - I care about maybe two games, LOTR Tactics and Gun Showdown, no others - is there much value in holding onto it? With eBay trolls hoarding unpatched copies of GTA:LCS, I'm reluctant to risk more $$ on this. Most of the forums here and elsewhere are firm on "no unpatched LCS, no downgrade".

I could get most of the $280 back, minus a 15% restocking fee. However, I sort of feel like locking the PSP in a truck and leaving it there for a while. I felt this way when I bought an Nokia NGage QD, but six months later I had a good reason to dig it back out.

Not looking for sympathy, just wanted to get this off my chest and get on with the rest of the week. Thanks!

2. paul91

paul91 Regular member

sorry mate i dont really understand what this is about lol :D

*edit* got it now lol just had to re-read

Last edited: Mar 9, 2007
  3. balkie16

balkie16 Regular member

if u have a 2.71 psp u can downgrade without gta...=)

4. npdyna

npdyna Regular member

$79 for a 2GB pro duo?