1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

download directx 10?????

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by denisp_84, Jul 9, 2007.

  1. denisp_84

    denisp_84 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    can someone tell me how to download directx 10 ? I have bought nvidia 8800 gtx and it is directx 10 card but how can i download directx 10?

    and can someone please also tell me how to check which directx version i have currently on vista?

    sorry for this stupid question?
    thanks for help
     
  2. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    You don't have to download it. Windows Vista has it pre-installed.
     
  3. denisp_84

    denisp_84 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    oh. so you just have to have directx10 video card right?
    how do you update it if you have to in future?
    thanks again
     
  4. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    As long as you have a Directx 10 card you're good to go. For future versions of DirectX just use Windows Update. Don't worry if your new game needs DirectX 11 or something it will come with the disk as well.
     
  5. denisp_84

    denisp_84 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks for help guys.
     
  6. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Directx10 is built into vista, but no games use it yet. When they do, it'll be time to change for people like us with DX9 cards, but for the moment, 'Vista only' titles can still be used with DX9 fully.
     
  7. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Until Crysis comes along atleast.
     
  8. denisp_84

    denisp_84 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Isn't Halo 2 for Vista uses DirectX 10 ?
     
  9. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No it doesnt. When it installs it just checks whether or not you have Vista installed.
     
  10. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The Vista and DX10 is just a coverup to force you to buy Vista. The game doesn't genuinely need Vista, they just made that the case to get Vista sales up.
     

Share This Page