1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Downloaded .avi movie. What to do next?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by CDeM, Mar 2, 2005.

1. CDeM

CDeM Member

Well, needless to say, I'm new at this.

I have just downloaded a full movie in .avi format. I'm wondering, if I burn the file to disc using NeroVision Express, will it be played at DVD quality in my DVD player, or will it be played with lower quality? What is the best method to burn this to DVD? Thanks.

2. ashroy01

ashroy01 Regular member

cd-r or dvd-r?
    are you going to leave it in avi format?

3. CDeM

CDeM Member

I'd like to burn it to a DVD-R, with my own menu and chapters added. I just want to have it be the best quality possible. I'm wondering how I would go about doing that. Thanks.

Also, the .avi file is not playing on my computer for some reason. It says MPEG4 decoding is not available.

Last edited: Mar 2, 2005
  4. ashroy01

ashroy01 Regular member

5. Jerry746

Jerry746 Senior member

You can convert it and burn with Nero Vision Express. Final quality will depend somewhat on how good your download is and also the quality of blank media you use.

Jerry

6. ehrlichia

ehrlichia Guest

just a little comment, I found a great free program, VSO Divx to DVD it converts alot of downloaded video files to the dvd format. in release 0.4.9.83 now. It can convert pal to ntsc,change aspect ratio 4:3 16:9.
    and output your avi with dolby ac3 2.0 sound.
    after that adding menus and artwork in NVE is simple unless you want to give dvd lab pro a try?...
    Good luck

7. CDeM

CDeM Member

I've used Nero VisionExpress to burn .avi files onto a DVD-R, and the videos work in a DVD player. With a full movie though, it says I can't do it because of MPEG4 decoding. I dont know if using NeroVision decreases the quality or not either. Thanks for the replies.

Last edited: Mar 2, 2005
  8. bbmayo

bbmayo Active member