1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

downloading files/ reviewing past downloade

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by rtrg, Feb 11, 2008.

1. rtrg

rtrg Regular member

As a newbie, I need to ask this question. When I download a program or file, Zone alarm, or a codec pack for instance, I click on the download link. A box opens in the center of the screen, open,save file? it asks. Open file,. Another box opens in the upper left hand corner, with a progress bar running left to right. When complete the words OPEN/REMOVE appears. A setup icon appears on my desktop, OR the program appeares on that screen. From the desktop I select the setup icon and the program opens a wizard and after a number of steps the program loads. When I download a suceeding program the same download boz appears with previous programs listed under the current downloading program. Now my question. How and where do I go to see all the programs downloaded to my computer in addition to ALL PROGRAMS list? Is ther a way to call up that aforementioed download box at will? So I can remove programs directly from that list? Des removeing the setup icon on the desktop also remove the program? Does removeing a download from that box also remove the program? I know these might seem like obvious questions, but as a newbie I would like to know. Incident ly there are times where I need to go to a third party site to download a program, either because the brand site doe not provide a working download link, or the link also downloads other programs or tools, or a browser or any number of unwanted and unavoidable things that are addons to the desired program. ZONE ALARM falls into that catagory, It took a search to find a site where I could download ONLY what I was looking for. Any other tips for XP that are useable from a use point of view would be helpful. A search for these issues turned up no useable answers.

2. LOCOENG