1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Downloading new lists for Peer Guardian

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by k0k0m0, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. k0k0m0

    k0k0m0 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I've been tryin' for the past several days to update my IP lists for PeerGuardian but they keep on sendimg me error msgs. In spite of that, the program still works. Anyone has had the same problem?

    Any idea where to d/l other lists?
     
  2. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    There have been a lot of issues for quite some time now with PG2 updating its P2P List. There is a simple workaround that requires using another P2P application, its called Blocklist Manager. The lists it provides are the ones PG2 downloads. I'll post back asap with how to. For now go ahead and download Blocklist Manager from here.
     
  3. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
  4. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Thanks for the advice Creakster,
    Once I disabled pg2, The 3 updates that wouldnt went right through.
    You never cease to amaze me lad.
     
  5. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No worries; can't remember if i had read that somewhere or just tried it by accident though
     
  6. k0k0m0

    k0k0m0 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm sorry. Been trying to update it following the method described in creaky's post but no luck. still getting the download error message...
     
  7. k0k0m0

    k0k0m0 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    tryin to make blocklist manager work but I'm totally lost... the help is of not much use either... *sigh*
     
  8. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    k0k0m0 heres a walkthrough with screenshots....

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    First open up notepad, but leave the notepad window blank. Save the file to this directory - C:\Program Files\PeerGuardian2\lists -. Save the blank file to this directory/folder as Exports.p2p and if you don't know how to save the file with the .p2p extension heres how. From Notepad go to "File", "Save As", and select the option to "Save File Type" and then simply type Exports.p2p in the filename box and save the file.


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I tried to make this as easy as possible, if anything doesn't make sense let me know.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2008
  9. k0k0m0

    k0k0m0 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Absolutely AWESOME... Thnx so so so much...
    question, what should I do with my actual PeerGuradian lists? Why is your peerguardian blocking zero lists? how do you do that?
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2008
  10. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    For your actual PeerGuardian lists you can uncheck all but the Blocklist Manager one from your "Lists Manager" window because the Blocklist Manager lists supercede them. And the reason my PG2 was blocking zero lists is because I took the picture to illustrate the size of the blocking lists that Blocklist Manager creates. So I had no lists activated in PG2 so it was blocking zero, and after you/I run through the guide you can see that PG2 now blocks some 2.9 billion IP's.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2008
  11. locutis77

    locutis77 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I think I've got the wrong URl for some reason,sources don't update 8(
    The Blocklist Manager 2.7.7

    Logging to C:\Program Files\Bluetack\Blocklist Manager\BlockMgr.log
    Ready.
    Retrieving source list...
    Source list downloading...
    :: Error occurred while requesting URL. The page may not currently be available.
    1555 bytes opened from local cached file...
    Source update complete. 0 new sources, 0 removed sources.
    Ready.
    Retrieving source list...
    Source list downloading...
    :: Error occurred while requesting URL. The page may not currently be available.
    1555 bytes opened from local cached file...
    Source update complete. 0 new sources, 0 removed sources.
    Ready.
    Retrieving source list...
    Source list downloading...
    :: Error occurred while requesting URL. The page may not currently be available.
    1555 bytes opened from local cached file...
    Source update complete. 0 new sources, 0 removed sources.
    Ready.
     
  12. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    hate to bring up a year old thread, but i just did the walk through and ran into a little problem. after step 9 i get an error count of 3. and when i continue with the guide, after adding the list to PG2, it doesnt make my IP ban count go up from what it was normally out before. could this be from the error count, or something else. if it makes any difference im running vista ultimate with the RC1 PG2.
     
  13. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    If you page back thru BLM's progress you'll see the error count was probably due to inaccessible lists. Just try again or wait awhile and try again, at some point the lists will be accessible again..
     
  14. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
  15. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yeah, just getting a list or two showing up as not found at the moment. The good thing about BLM is that you can carry on and use the rest of the lists ie export to the PG2 lists file so it will be up to date apart from the missing lists, or just stick to the existing lists file from whenever you last updated BLM.
     
  16. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    i dont think its adding the other lists though. if i open PG2 back up, and go to list manager, select the export.p2p file, and hit the open list button, it opens up to a blank list, where as with any other lists, theres items in it. so i apparently did something else wrong that i didnt/cant find.
     
  17. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I don't think it's meantioned in the thread but the way i always work with the lists is to always untick the list in PG2 then tick it again, that prompts PG2 to re-read the file and populate the cache.
    Obviously you can prove the list file is empty or not via Windows Explorer.
     
  18. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I have had nothing but problems with PeerGuardian and Vista. I am running PG2 on 2 separate PC's one is Vista Ultimae 64 bit and the other Ultimate 32 bit.

    The problem lies with Vista's use of driver signing. Driver Signing is the equivalent of SSL certificates for websites. It is basically used to make sure the drivers you install are coming from legit corporations. But since the Phoenix Labs/PG2 folks can't afford one the program suffers, because PG2 is itself a driver.
     
  19. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    well i fixed the list not having any contents part, i didnt check the one little box (the export location active) one. but it still didnt make the number of blocked IPs go up. but oh well, i tried. thanks for the help.

    and phoenix labs needs to get some money so they can afford the driver. lol.

    edit...
    nevermind, its seeing the blocked IPs now. i didnt see creaky's post about unticking and reticking them. did that and it works fine now.

    thanks all
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2009
  20. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I imagine they'll have to do something by the time Windows 7 hits retail. But for me it's ok as my PG2 netbook is staying on XP, no need for it to run anything else.
     

Share This Page