1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

drag,drop to cdrw ??

Discussion in 'CD-R(W) Media' started by faithzzzz, Mar 20, 2005.

  1. faithzzzz

    faithzzzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have tried Nero InCD and it always mess up my
    drivers and computer and some of my disk I cant open
    up..is there any other programs that I can use as a
    drag and drop,like floppy disk? because I add and
    delete files from my cdrw,s and its alot of work to
    keep burning all the time,any ideas? would a external
    hard drive be better for long term storage?
     
  2. djscoop

    djscoop Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    drag and drop programs, even from a good company like nero, are notorious for drastically slowing computer performance as well as causing problems. Do yourself a huge favor and get a hard drive. External ones are pretty cheap these days.
     
  3. faithzzzz

    faithzzzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    are External hard drives better on long term storage
    then cdr or cdrw? like 10 or 20 years? all I want is
    something to store all my programs,music,recipes,ect
    and have easy access to delete or add files as needed.
    its a hassile to burn files every day.are External
    hard drive easy to install,and are they reliable?
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    if get an external hd or even when using cdr/w should always have a copy on your hd so if lose a drive/disk will still have the other copy
     
  5. Dude2099

    Dude2099 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well your best bet is to grab one of these and never worry again and while your at it, since i recommended it. You should buy me one as well

    http://www.lacie.com/products/product.htm?pid=10462

    That was just a quick search, have a more thorough look and you should be able to save $100 or more. $200 or more if you buy me one ;-)

    Being a chef and all.......maybe? Recipes???? Just a hunch
     
  6. Damon1

    Damon1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  7. vicsvw

    vicsvw Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I also have Problems with Nero INCD but slightly diferent. If I use drag and drop from one computer it can not be read on second computer. Nero was Instaled on both and both will record & read files but only if they were drag & droped from the same computer. Could this be in the settings of the Nero 6. Instalation instruction were not very clear. Use for data files only. Thanks Vic.
     
  8. Digidave

    Digidave Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I,ve used the Maxtor One-Touch for about a year now & I love it. When it's set up properly all you do is push the button & BAM all your new files are copied over to your external HD.
     
  9. djscoop

    djscoop Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I setup a one touch HD on my neighbors computer. That dants retrospect software it comes with is crap! OMG its the worst backup software I ever saw! Half the time it didn't backup properly at all! I deleted that and installed what I use, Acronis True Image.
     
  10. Digidave

    Digidave Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Mine seems to work fine. But like I;ve said before, I'm not real savvy with a computer. So maybe it just appears to be okay. I googled for thatAcronis True Image & found a free version(6.0) on Major Geeks. Then there's the pay version(8.0)at the Acronis website. Would it be safe to say that the free version would be sufficient. Plus, would I still have the One Touch capabilities.
     
  11. faithzzzz

    faithzzzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    will true image work on win98se?
     
  12. Digidave

    Digidave Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I just went back to Major Geeks & saw that it was the version 8.0. Must of had a brain fart there sorry. $50.00, is it really worth it?

    True Image 8 enjoys some clear advantages over Ghost 9. It works with any version of Windows (Ghost 9 works only with XP and 2000), it doesn't depend on Microsoft's .Net framework the way its competitor does, and its full version is $20 less expensive

    This from a review fro PC Magazine. That's for you Faithzzzz

    http://www.pcworld.com/reviews/article/0,aid,117961,00.asp
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2005
  13. mrsilly69

    mrsilly69 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    how can i back up all my mp3's using a cd burner, i am going to purchase another computer and want to tranfer only my mp3 and pictures, how can i put a lot of mp3 files on a single cdr, please help....
     
  14. Digidave

    Digidave Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Just so you know. You should of started a new thread for this. You need to use burning software that will allow you to burn all your files as Data files. This allows you to burn a lot of mp3's on to one disk.
     

Share This Page