1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Driv3r PAL. Will it work with an NTSC PS2 SMD2.0?

Discussion in 'PS2' started by casino187, Jun 14, 2004.

  1. casino187

    casino187 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I live in the states and have a PS2 that plays NTSC games, but I can't remember if it will play PAL backups? If so, will it require the CD Loader or anything besides the Swap Magic Disk? Has anyone played this yet?
     
  2. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think you cant play pal games on a ntsc system unless you have a mod chip. Im not 100% sure but i think that is the case.
     
  3. bigboneli

    bigboneli Guest

    google for adr_patcher v0.5 if you don't already have it. then, convert the image from pal to ntsc and burn your backup as normal. i'm assuming you were recently in europe and bought the game, and want to back it up now you're back in the states. cuz i don't want to get in crap for anything non-backup related. also, you of course have a modchip so you can play your backup after you've converted/burned it.
    hope this helps
     
  4. Dwayno

    Dwayno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi there,

    Does this patch work for NTSC to PAL conversions as well? If so, what is the name of it?. As GOOGLE isn't saying much at this moment in time!
    Thanks
     
  5. Cyprien

    Cyprien Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    if the tv supports pal signal or its a multi signal tv you can play them games no patching is needed... if the ps2 has a mod it will play w/o a problem... try to burn the game if it looks black and white then pathc if not then be happy... btw driver pal has problems with ntsc systems but on pal system it works fine... you better skip movies in the game or it wont play... patching will not help... i myself have the game it works on my pal but not on my ntsc..
     
  6. bigboneli

    bigboneli Guest

    http://www.richpsx.com/playstation2/utilities.html

    hope i can post that link here, if not a mod can remove it. i found the program on other ps2 forums as well, but didn't think it'd be cool to post THEM here....

    yes, it will patch ntsc-pal as well, it has different patches built in (mostly defunct patches, what with modchips, etc) these days, just make sure you choose the proper patch, pal-ntsc or vice-versa. works AWESOME, hasn't failed on me yet, and takes seconds to patch your image.
     
  7. Dwayno

    Dwayno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Many thanks guys for this.
     
  8. adam1122

    adam1122 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i also have the PAL backup and want to use it with my NTSC system but i have it chipped. so if its chipped it will play just fine or if my tv isnt set up for PAL i will have a problem? if so should i convert the pal backup to NTSC just in case? any info is help!
     
  9. bigboneli

    bigboneli Guest

    i'd recommend converting to ntsc 'just in case'
    scrolling black and white screens suck
     
  10. Cyprien

    Cyprien Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    tell that to him... :p

    [bold]When i converted driv3r from PAL to NTSC (the ORGASM release) my ntsc wouldnt load it unless it was just straight PAL. It wont get past the first movie if it is in NTSC, some sort of protection or something. I was wondering, is there anyway to get past this. I was using the may 25 build of Jayteemasters PAL2NTSC w/ y-fix program and i set the y-fix to 48, but it doesnt matter cause i also tried it on 32 and it didnt work, also the PAL version got past the first movie, however it was scrolling b/w. I also tried the sm3 way.[/bold]

    the game cant be patched... it will not work on ntsc system properly...
     
  11. adam1122

    adam1122 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yeah after i patched it loads up but freezes on game intro screen. no fix for this?
     
  12. bigboneli

    bigboneli Guest

    funny.... it works on my dms3 chipped machine after using adr_patcher. and i can send pics of it being played on my bigscreen to any non believers.
     
  13. adam1122

    adam1122 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    you suck, im not sure what chip is in mine but its directboot and always works for everything else!
     
  14. bigboneli

    bigboneli Guest

  15. Cyprien

    Cyprien Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    see then we got this lil problem..

    i got me magic v with pal v7 and dms3 with v9 ntsc...

    and the funny part it dont boot on my ntsc... but DOES boot on the pal... explain this then... cuz i sure cant figure it out....


    the original post asking about SMD not a chip theres a diffrence.. on a pal with smd it works on ntsc with smd it dont work... patching will only make it worse...
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG][/small]
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2004
  16. adam1122

    adam1122 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    what about if i dont patch it on my ntsc system and leave it pal? i just put it back to pal but dont wanna waste another dvd. how long till the backup will be around in NTSC?
     
  17. Cyprien

    Cyprien Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    pretty long.... considering its not even out yet in europe... its just a dl over from net...
     
  18. adam1122

    adam1122 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    no idea if it will work not patched?
     
  19. Cyprien

    Cyprien Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    it works unpatched.... if you got a tv that supports pal then go ahead burn it as it is...
     
  20. adam1122

    adam1122 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    aww, that was my ?. im in the use so im pretty sure it will not play it. damn
     

Share This Page