1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Drive does not 'see' disk

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by divsteph, Jan 28, 2005.

  1. divsteph

    divsteph Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Trying to backup Texas Chainsaw massacre but the drive just doesn't think i've put a disk in ! Any ideas? I've tried it on DVD player and works fine.
     
  2. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    If you have windows xp: Try uninstall that drive on your ide and reboot. Windows should pick it up.After rebooting,try to get a look at that drive when it goes through the bios page-it may be quick-.

    Is this the only disc it does this to you?

    Is this an original texas chainsaw massacre disc or a backup copy you are trying to re-rip?
     
  3. divsteph

    divsteph Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Its the first time that its happened and its the original copy of the film
     
  4. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Do your other original dvd's do the same?

    Is this a dvdrom or a combo dvdrom/rw?

    Are there any fingerprints or scratches on that disc?
     
  5. divsteph

    divsteph Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No it doesn't happen with any other disk i try which leads me to think that it is the disk, although there is no obvious scrathes on it. Its in my DVD-RW drive that it is happening (my only drive).
     
  6. divsteph

    divsteph Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Have reinstalled the drive with no effect.

    It strange that it should work on my standalone machine and not in the computer.
     
  7. divsteph

    divsteph Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok, its not definatly not the disk; tried it another computer and works fine! Whats going on??
     

Share This Page