1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Drive won't eject!

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by A_Tips, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. A_Tips

    A_Tips Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My Xbox starts perfectly, plays demos and such fine, but the power light keeps flashing and my drive won't eject. Is there an EASY way to fix this, or will I have to send it in for repair? Please help.

    A_Tips
     
  2. A_Tips

    A_Tips Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    anyone?
     
  3. Bart212

    Bart212 Guest

    Mine did the same and Microsoft said to send it in to them as this is a well know issue and no easy fix.
     
  4. A_Tips

    A_Tips Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Bart, did you have a warranty?
     
  5. Bart212

    Bart212 Guest

    Mine was, is yours under warranty? I'd just google Xbox 360 repair services and find a legit repair site if it isn't, good luck.
     
  6. A_Tips

    A_Tips Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No, it's not under warranty, MS won't fix it if it isn't under warranty?
     
  7. henryryry

    henryryry Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    A_Tips, I had the same problem on my Xbox 360... the power light kept flashing and DVD drive wouldn't respond. However, this error was inconsistent, and would be ok if I gave my console some time to rest.

    My xbox was out of warranty so I took it to a local tech who specialised in xbox. He replaced my DVD rom, but that didn't solve the problem. I kept on playing the xbox until one day I started getting strange rainbow colour on the opening screen, which apparently is a precursor to the 3 red lights of death. The tech thought that the problem (like most xbox consoles) may be due to overheating that may have stuffed up the connection to the DVD rom, and suggested an x-clamp mod (you can do a search on this forum). I never went ahead with it as I sold my console on ebay as a faulty console, and bought a PS3. But apparently the person I sold the console to got the x-clamp mod and says that so far (2 weeks), the xbox has been working fine.



     
  8. Bart212

    Bart212 Guest

    MS will fix it, but for a LOT more than someone else. Google a repair service or ask someone local there, that's what I would do, good luck man, know it's frustrating to spend that much money on something that does not work correctly.
     
  9. jamnut

    jamnut Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You don't need tp take it back if it's the same as mine - if the console is upright and the tray is empty then sometimes it won't open. Just keep a game in there or turn it on its side when you open it.

    Hope this helps.
     
  10. henryryry

    henryryry Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was wondering if you put a game in, will it still read the game?
     
  11. jamnut

    jamnut Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    If you are asking me then it does yes. It's just a niggling problem which I can't be arsed to solve.
    If you aren't asking me then just tell me to sod off.
     
  12. henryryry

    henryryry Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    lol... I am not going to tell you to sod off :)

    My console wouldn't read the game, so it was more than just an opening/closing problem. I wonder if A_tips has the same problem...
     
  13. truehaven

    truehaven Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    just out of curiousity, what type of 360 do you guys have? the premium, or elite??
     
  14. henryryry

    henryryry Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a premium
     
  15. A_Tips

    A_Tips Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah I'm having the same problem as Henry, and I have a premium. I decided to send it in to MS to get it fixed ($100 =[), unless there's an easy fix that doesn't involve soldering or anything (I suck at soldering), because I'd rather have it done right anyway.
     

Share This Page