1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dts

Discussion in 'Audio' started by adrian1, Sep 14, 2004.

1. adrian1

adrian1 Guest

please help me!
    i want a guide to convert stereo to audio dts and burning dts audio cd.
    I use a standalone dvd player(ivory) and a home theatre set of speaker(genius) for play its and i have on my pc a abit soundcard and 5.1 system of speakers.
    I have already do audio cd dts with besure, besweet and surcode and i can play on my pc but on my dvd player i can't hear nothing on surround speakers.
    If i use audio dts file download from internet it's ok on my dvd player.
    please help me to solve this problem, because i'm not an expert

2. wilkes

wilkes Regular member

Lets try & work through this for you.
    There are actually 2 different types of DTS audio files.
    1/. DTS-CD, or DTS-WAV. These have a .WAV extension, and are surround files multiplexed into a single stream with 44.1KHz samplerate header, so they can be burned to a standard CD in any Audio CD creation software. Easier than a DVD, but they need to be played back through a DTS decoder to work.
    2/. .DTS files - these are at 48KHz, and must be authored with a DTS compatible DVD Authoring application. This is a lot harder to do.

Then, you need to actually convert the stereo file into a surround one, as the encoders do not do this for you. This has to be done first.

Can you do a couple of things for me please?
    Firstly, what stereo files are you talking about - are they 16 bit 44.1KHz WAV files?
    Secondly, does your DVD player use a built in DTS decoder, or is it hooked up to an AV amplifier, with CoAxial digital connection?

3. adrian1

adrian1 Guest

Mr. Wilkes-Senior Member
    Thank you for the your help.
    I use a stand alone dvd player which have like supported formats dts, dolby digital, dvd video, etc.