1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dual boot from 2nd hard drive

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by krj15489, Feb 7, 2007.

  1. krj15489

    krj15489 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    i have my computer set up to dual boot from different partitions on my first hard drive and that works great but i also have a second drive that has xp pro and i dont know how i can boot from the second drive withought changing the way the drives are set up. right now both drives are set up on the same ide cable, with the second drive as a slave. any help on booting from my second drive would be great.
     
  2. Ripper

    Ripper Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    68
    You could set the BIOS to ask you which HDD to boot from at start up?

    I think you can do that? Lol :)
     
  3. krj15489

    krj15489 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    ok i will look for that. thanks
     
  4. Ripper

    Ripper Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Let us know how you get on; cos I'm not completely sure, but I think I've heard that mentioned before. :)
     
  5. gtjr_ph

    gtjr_ph Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    goto bios boot sequence,
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Ripper

    Ripper Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    68
    See, there ya go ;-)

    I knew what I was talking about; honest. :-D
     
  7. krj15489

    krj15489 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    thanks for your help but my bios doest have those options, its outdated. do you know how i can upgrade my bios?
    /media/hda4/BiosPic.JPG

     
  8. krj15489

    krj15489 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    i trid to post pic and it didnt work, the only options i had in boot sequence was hard driveC disket and cdrom
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    check the boot.ini in msconfig but probably will have to do a fresh install of xp onto 2nd hd.
     
  10. krj15489

    krj15489 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    ok i can try that, thanks
     

Share This Page