1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dual layer burner

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by pymalake, Mar 14, 2005.

  1. pymalake

    pymalake Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Is there a chance that I could burn it with a dual layer dvd burner?
     
  2. redhatman

    redhatman Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    burn what?
     
  3. pymalake

    pymalake Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Some large PS2 games like Shadow of Rome or Grand Tour 4
     
  4. redhatman

    redhatman Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    in order to burn games, and be able to play then you need a swap disc or a mod chip. A dual layer burner will burn dvd -r's and dvd +r's. I just got one not to long ago and they are nice. So check out what version of ps2 console you have and then figure out what type of media you need to play in it. To find that out, just go into different forums and you will get replies really quick. And since you have a dual layer burner, you just need to go out and buy the right type of media, and the mods, burn the games with various softwares, and play. I hope that helps you.
    -Pat (redhatman)
     
  5. Prize99

    Prize99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I know for a fact PS2 wont play a Gran Turismo 4 Dual Layer backup! I made a perfect copy with verbatim DL+R but the PS2 wont read it. I was using Swap magic 2.0 though but dont think it matters. Actually i dont think PS2's can play dvd9 format discs at all (dual layers).
     
  6. redhatman

    redhatman Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok, well you might want to ask someone else then becasue to be honest i have never backed up a ps2 game and played it. I just know how to do it from reading a lot. Good Luck!
    -Pat (redhatman)
     
  7. El_Raro

    El_Raro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    That's not true. I used to think that my MOD chipped PS2 could only play DVD-R discs until a freind of mine burnt MGS3: Snake Eater on a DVD+R disc. So PS@ games CAN play both formats. However I think you need a MOD chip for this to work.
     
  8. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Shadow Of Rome will fit fine on a single layer disc. Just read the posts here because you will need to get the patch for that game to work, that or rebuild the ISO.
     
  9. snipered

    snipered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You can't use swap magic to play a dual layer backup.

    Swap magic only has a toc size of 4.36gb. Games like GT4 are 5gb. You would need a swap magic disc of about 8gb to play all dual layer backups.

    As for mod-chips, i don't know. Someone should try it on a mod chip.

    PS2 should be able to play dual layer backups-if you can play original dual layer games-why should you not be able to play copies.

    You need to verify on different type of mods, except swap magic at momment.
     

Share This Page