1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dual layer burning

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by hatcat01, Jan 9, 2005.

1. hatcat01

hatcat01 Member

I'm totally new to all this, so this may be a newbie question - feel free to point me in the right direction with a smug/avuncular/jaded disposition if so, but I can't find any references in the guides.

I got myself a dual layer burner for Christmas - LaCie d2, actually an NEC model. If I rip a disc to an .iso, how are the layer change points going to be handled? Does the .iso contain layer information, and so start burning to the second layer as appropriate? Dual layer discs appear to be 8.4Gb in size, rather less than DVD9 discs would appear to be - does that mean that each layer is going to be smaller than on commercial discs, or is the second layer much smaller than the first? Would smaller layers mean a coaster rather than a backed up film, or a film with a "slight pause" in it? I fear that I am going to need to rip and re-author - I am disinclined to experiment too much as discs are expensive and I haven't come across any rewritable dual layer media, so if anyone has any experience in this matter and would care to share, that would be lovely. If not, I'll take the hit, see what happens and write a guide. If anyone can recommend appropriate rip and re-author software (free is nice, obviously) that would also be most helpful.

Best wishes...

2. pulsar

pulsar Active member

What a way to introduce your self. I did not realise that we were smug/avuncular or of jaded disposition. I suggest that when you post a thread you treat us with a tad more respect. Otherwise people who could help, WILL choose not to.