1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Duel layer burners and Ps2

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by dontbugme, Nov 23, 2004.

  1. dontbugme

    dontbugme Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Will any of the new duel layer burners make working backups of duel layer PS2 games?
     
  2. bboy_flex

    bboy_flex Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    They should. Currently dual layered burners are very expensive and also keep in mind that oyu have to buy dual layered blank dvds which i havent seen being sold.
     
  3. Xay

    Xay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Crud, I just got a vaio with a duel layer dvd+-RW/CD-RW... :(
     
  4. Balaam

    Balaam Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Dual layer media is still pretty expensive, but the burners are cheap as dirt. $68 for a top of the line burner with free shipping is hardly what I call expensive. The media is starting to come down in price though, and there are plenty of good places on the web to buy them. I can't remember for sure where I read it, but I think I read that dual layer backups won't work with Swapmagic, but cant remember the reason for it.
     
  5. bboy_flex

    bboy_flex Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah thats true, Dual layered backups WILL NOT WORK WITH SWAP MAGIC. I think it had something to do with the TOC and that it couldn't refresh more that a 4.5gbs.
     
  6. Balaam

    Balaam Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Darn, I was hoping I was wrong on that. I read that by using DVD loader and an original PS2 DVD9 you could play large backups, but I guess that only counts if the game is split over two disks?
     
  7. bboy_flex

    bboy_flex Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The only way to play a dvd9 backup with swap magic is if it is split between two seperate disks or if it is compressed into a dvd5.
     
  8. Xay

    Xay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    couldn't a duel layer burner brun onto a single layer disc?
     
  9. L-Burna

    L-Burna Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I heard it can be done with the TOC refresh option,but I am not really sure if it is true or not for swap magic users.
     
  10. dontbugme

    dontbugme Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for all the replys My PS2's are chiped but i have yet to find anyone who has made a playable backup of a dvd-9 game on a duel layer burnner that has worked if any one has please let me know which burner you have and what software you used .
     

Share This Page