1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Duo modchip half works

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by twinke, May 30, 2004.

  1. twinke

    twinke Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I installed the Duo modchip in my version 7 ps2. It's the first solder modchip install that I've ever done. Everything seems to have gone fine except whenever I turn on the PS2 the tray immediately ejects. Also, anytime I press the eject button the PS2 restarts. In fact, the eject button seems to be acting like a clone for the reset button. If I hold the eject button in it will power off the PS2. Maybe it's always like that but I never noticed it before. On the plus side of things I can play PS2 original and backup games without a hitch. I can also play PS1 originals. It's when I try to play a PS1 backup that it doesn't work. The tray ejecting and the eject button totally mess up any chance of putting the modchip in PS1 mode or disabling it. Does anyone know or have ideas as to what went wrong? Was it my solder job? Did I fry a chip? Any information would be helpful.

    Thank you.
     
  2. qbano

    qbano Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    check you Z and RST points your problem lyies with them..
     
  3. nim

    nim Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Installed a DUO in a v7. Now i just get a black screen when my ps2 turns on. Any advice on what points to look at pls help gbano
     
  4. daPhoenix

    daPhoenix Guest

    Twinke: It sounds to me like your may have plugged your ribbons in wrong when you put your system back together or, qbano may be right. Check all your points and make sure they are correct.

    Nim: Usually a black screen is related to the bios chip. Check the bios legs for bridges. Might as well check all your points while your in there. If all else fails take it apart and start again. but first check to see if you are sti;; getting the black screen after the chip is out. If it does then you fried a fuse and you are fuxored.
     
  5. qbano

    qbano Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    nim..your problem could have to do with pwr and gnd make sure the wires for those two are big ones (22ga) or you can use two of the small ones you are using on the rest of the installation...i would use 3-4 for the gnd though...i got black screen on my first install for this same problem...also...does you eject light come on???
     
  6. nim

    nim Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for your advice, i try and put a thicker power and ground wire. BTW i have advanced to the clouds screen (after fixing the dry joints) however am getting some interference (probably because i have not put the lexan that shields the pwr supply or my wires are too thin. At this stage it won't read any cd's or dvds. A music cd comes up with tracks but won't play them when selected and it says i have no dvd movie player? Any way i will try your suggestions to my previous problem tonight. Thanks again and i'll let you all know how i go
     

Share This Page