1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

duo2 and problems loading DVD-R

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by mike21, Nov 14, 2004.

  1. mike21

    mike21 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i installed the duo2 SE modchip the other day. It appears to be working correctly except for the fact that it will not play dvd-r backups. It is reading cdr backups, original dvd movies, original ps2 dvd games, dvd-r movies. I burned the .ISO using recordnow max using a verbatim dvd-r at 1x. I also tried adjusting the laser a bit. Please let me know what else i should try as i am stumped.
     
  2. ryohunt

    ryohunt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have the very same problem,
    it's very annoying every works except for DVDRs
    did you find something ?
    Please let me know when you do.

    thanks in advance,
    -RYo
     
  3. afex

    afex Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    does it *ever* play dvd-rs? you will seriously want to boot it and boot it again like 30 times...if it'll boot it even ONCE it is a laser issue, and tweaking the laser will help you out. If it NEVER boots, it is an install issue - most likely w/ the non bios-wires...let me know if you get it fixed
     
  4. ryohunt

    ryohunt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I feel it has trouble reading the DVDR, although I'm not 100% sure, do you have any good tweak for the DVD lens, I'm currently 650 ohms and reads very correctly the DVDs.

    Please let me know if you got an idea,
    thanks very much
    -Ryo

    ps: do you know which wires are for PS2 part of the chip ?
     
  5. ryohunt

    ryohunt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    here's what I've tried so far

    PS1 originals -> Works fine
    PS2/DVD Originals -> Works fine

    PS1 backup -> works fine
    DVD/PS2 backups-> just won't start (like couldn't read them)
    PS2 on CD -> Feels like it starts but stops and gives me the red screen of death.

    Thanks again
    -Ryo
     
  6. ryohunt

    ryohunt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi ,

    here's the deal, I've tweaked my lens and now it works fine,
    the only problem I still got, is when I put a DVD backup in the console
    it goes as if it is starting (goes faster black screen..) but all of a sudden it stops, and I come back to the gray menu saying PS2 on the top left of the screen, then it goes to the red screen of Death.
    I assume it's some kind of wire problem, the only thing is I don't know which one..
    Can someone help me here, I'm very depressed.

    Thanks in advance,

    -Ryo
     
  7. afex

    afex Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i dont really understand how you can say 'i tweaked my lense and now it works fine' but its still not working...
    anyhow, yea its most likely the wires that don't deal with the bios, i believe they are Z, S, W, and A if i remember my duo's correctly...also check the obvious things like a solder bridge on your bios chip
     
  8. ryohunt

    ryohunt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi, I wonder if it doesn't something to do with A B I which are three points very hard to put on, especially I and A positionned on VIAs.
    as long as it touchs the via, the solder should be correct right ?
    I remade all of my solders, and still got the same results, it's driving me craazy ! :(

    pleasee help
     
  9. afex

    afex Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you'll wanna check the via points w/ a multimeter, sometimes the solder will stick but there is no conduction - and yes, those three points are going to be the important ones, especially I (if i remember correctly)
     
  10. octavius

    octavius Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i'm having similar problems. Duo SE2 PS2 v7:

    PS2 DVD-r - work always
    PS2 DVD Originals - work always
    PS2 CD-r - NEVER work
    --
    PSX Originals - work always
    PSX backups - NEVER work

    any ideas? or any luck guys?

    btw, whats a multimeter (sp?) and how do i use it?
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2004
  11. ryohunt

    ryohunt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Check the S point, I think that would be your problem..
    Btw how did you solder the A, I and B point ?
    if it works, could you send me a picture ?
     
  12. octavius

    octavius Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i used some soldering weld paste for these points. It made it
    MUCH easier then using normal solder. esp. for the copper
    plates.

    As far as the A point, I think i might have connected it to the
    little copper hole that is above the solder point. I'll try to fix
    that. maybe thats my problem.

    btw, multimeter. how do i use it to test if there is a
    connection?
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2004
  13. afex

    afex Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    set your multimeter to measure resistance - if the connection is good, you'll get anything under 10 ohms
     
  14. artwo

    artwo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have installed a duo2 in my ps2 v10 and could not read dvd-r backups either, but in my case the following procedure gets them to boot most of the time.

    power-on on backside, press eject, power-off on backside,
    insert dvd, power-on on backside, press reset
    if not working press reset again
     
  15. mike21

    mike21 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    btw i got mine to work. I used a multimeter and put it on a setting to check diodes, i dunno if your multimeter will do that. But anyway i found one of those dvd points the A,B, I, or whatever wasnt connected, i resoldered and it works fine. So keep messing with those points i'll bet thats your problem
     
  16. octavius

    octavius Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i got mine working perfect too now.. actually.. i didnt resolder anything. I just had one wire that was being grounded somewhere. I put some tape on it and WAH LAH!
     

Share This Page