1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

duo2 in v7 not working

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by ninja_nip, Aug 18, 2004.

  1. ninja_nip

    ninja_nip Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey guys

    it boots cd based ps2 games(originals), but not dvd. it starts to say "no data" then jumps to "insert ps2 format disk." i'm pretty sure it isn't the laser because with the chip in sleep mode the dvd games work. i don't have any psx orig, but backups don't work either.

    i am going to open it back up in the morning, and i just wanted to know if you guys had any ideas as to what i should be looking at. there was originally some concern about bridged bois leggs, but i believe i have fixed that since it works in sleep mode

    thanks for any ideas you may have, just throw them out there!
     
  2. ninja_nip

    ninja_nip Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    MANNN, this is frustrating! I try and test and look and d&@# if everything doesn't seem fine. I test for contineuity everywhere i could find a place to test after my joints (like the leggs on the duo chip past the solder joint, same on the ps2 side). I even test for solder bridging. Now, I am far from being an expert but...

    Same results as before, ps2 cd originals work, but ps2 dvds only work with the chip off. How likly do you think it is that i got a bad chip? Or, maybe I damaged it? I got the chip from mod-chip.com.

    Any ideas? Please?
     
  3. jackthe3

    jackthe3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    how do you test for solder bridging?
     
  4. ninja_nip

    ninja_nip Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just put the two multi-meter thingies on the far side of both places I suspected a bridge. If there was a connection it would have beeped.

    Anyway, I tried another chip and it worked. So, yey for me but i don't know about mod-chips.com. however, it is possible i broke the chip. It didn't have the SE on it which makes me think it was a bootleg.

    I just don't know, but there is my story.
     
  5. jackthe3

    jackthe3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    how much is that meter thing. I need one.
     
  6. ninja_nip

    ninja_nip Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Any multi-meter that tests for (watch out for my spelling) contineuity. I think you can get them at radio shack or walmart, but I'm not sure how much a cheep one would cost.
     
  7. jackthe3

    jackthe3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i learn something new every day. i could use one of those. lol. since my board is so.... yea. messed up.
     

Share This Page