1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd authoring help and tips

Discussion in 'Video to DVD' started by Stevenz, Jan 24, 2005.

1. Stevenz

Stevenz Member

Ok I am a newbie here and have tried and failed a few times

I have a sony digital video camera which I then captured onto the pc onto windows movie maker and edited then used a ulead program to convert into dvd. all the steps were a peice of cake but I ended up with horizontal lines across the images on the tv when people or objects moved.

Also I found that it would play on my dvd player at home but not others

I dont know what or how to fix these issues so if anyone can help and also provide some tips

Plus what software would you recommend for all the steps from capturing to burning to disk

2. bazilla

bazilla Regular member

If it is digital, can you not skip the "capture" process and upload directly to the computer. Or is that what you mean by "capture"?

I think the first thing to do is determine whether the problems arose during what you call the "capture", or doing the reeding and conversion to dvd. The first should yield an avi or mpg file that ought to be playable in any media player. Before doing any kind of edit, I'd play it and make sure that the "horizontal" lines are not present in the source.

If not, then the editing possibilities are endless. I haven't used Windows Movie Maker, so I don't know if it is any good or not. Up to this point (I'm still a newbie) my editing tasks have been solved by MPEG2CUT, VirtualDub and VIrtualDubMod, and NeroVision Express.

I'm interested in what more exerienced users recommend. I'm looking myself at DVD-Lab and TMPGENC for more powerful editing tools.

3. Stevenz

Stevenz Member

The files are all play in media player once captured and play perfectly fine, its when it is converted it is somewhere in the converting to vob? and burning

4. Adder01

Adder01 Regular member