1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd best before date?

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by hkphooey, Mar 10, 2005.

1. hkphooey

hkphooey Member

from what ive learnt on these forums dvds burnt today might go-off in laymans terms and not play sometime in the future.
    but when do they start going-off ?
    does it start when they leave the production line
    or
    from first their burn date

lets say, you buy 100, burn dvd_1 today,
    2 years later, it don't play,
    are the blanks left over nearly dead too?

no jokes please about only burning one a week :)

2. cobra747

cobra747 Member

I have DVD movies burned at least 5 years ago,
    (with DVD Express)still are perfect and I now burn
    with Apollo or Dvd Shrink.they are the fastest....

3. sadsac

sadsac Guest

I'm by no means an expert, but I really don't think you need to worry about this. From what I know, your dvds don't have a shelf life. What you're probably referring to is that after you've viewed them hundreds of times, they may or may not play in the future. If you buy good quality media, the disks will probably last a lifetime.

4. cobra747

cobra747 Member

you are right sadsack

5. cobra747

cobra747 Member

if you let them get too hot, they could have a separation effect of the layers which could render them useless.........

6. bbmayo

bbmayo Active member

Expected longevity of dye-based DVD-R and DVD+R discs is anywhere from 20 to 250 years, about as long as CD-R discs. Some dye formulations (such as phthalocyanine and azo) are more stable and last longer, 100 years or more, compared to 20 or 30 years for less stable dyes.

The phase-change erasable formats (DVD-RAM, DVD-RW, and DVD+RW) have an expected lifetime of 25 to 100 years.