1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd burner fails burning data with nero

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by sirB, Sep 24, 2004.

  1. sirB

    sirB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i have this problem when i try to burn data on a dvd-rw it fails
    i can burn a dvd-r with dvd decrypter and also cdr with nero
    plz help needed
     
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    This doesn't belong in Advanced, thread moved.


    Make/model burner? Firmware version?

    Brand/type media?

    What happens if you burn data to a -R?

    What happens if you try to burn a film to the RW?
     
  3. sirB

    sirB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    as far as i know its a BTC
    firmware no idea
    if i burn a backup ps2 image on a dvd-r it works fine
    when i try to burn data on a dvd-rw it fails
    hope this helps
     
  4. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Are you trying to use the same RW or have you tried a new one?
     
  5. sirB

    sirB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i burnt a film on the same rw and it burnt it
     
  6. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Was the burn successful? The movie turned out alright?
     
  7. ZStrange

    ZStrange Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have exact same problem.
    Nero 5.5.10.45
    Burner: Optorite DD0201 firmware 2.60

    When i try to burn data only to a DVD-R, The disc appears as blank in windows Explorer on the same computer/drive, yet Nero confirms that the session was burnt correctly, Media-Info shows that the track is there.

    When i look at burning a second session to the disc, Nero window shows the files that are there, but when I choose properties of the disc in the Nero compiliation window it shows "files already on CD : 0kB" but it says 5 files and 1 folder have been recorded, and the progress bar shows 500mb has already been used.

    Further information;

    - no problems with burning data to CD-R, or an ISO image (DVD rip) to DVD-r
    - this problem started after a clean reinstall of Windows XP, worked fine before under SP1, i did upgrade to SP2 but not sure if i ever used it.
    - however on previous installation of windows i did have a problem with some DVD data discs only being able to be veiwed on the recorder that burnt it
    - problem first started under XP SP2, and then XP clean.
    - have repeated problem with Nero 6.3.1.25 demo and then OEM supplied with burner 5.5.10.45, and have also updated to the latest InCD.
    - Have installed patch you referred to here http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q320174 however it does not directy apply to my issue, as i cannot even view the data on my own computer.
    - have tried two different media types (both types worked before I reinstalled windows)
    - have tried both ISO and UDF format and same problem.
    - have tried both multisession and closed session.

    Plenty of people appear to be reporting this problem on various forums on the internet but seems nobody knows the answer.

    Is there an alternative application (free) that can burn data to a DVD-r. All i can seem to find in searches is DVD movie applications.
    thanks





     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2004
  8. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I've seen this happen with Optorites and to a lesser extent some LG's. It's often the result of firmware that hasn't been fully optomized although in your case it apparently only happens when writing multisession discs correct?


    Burn At Once is a good one :)

    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]
    Got Indie? http://cdbaby.com/

    My Movies! http://www.intervocative.com/dvdcollection.aspx/Rephaim

    Forum rules! http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/2487[/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2004
  9. ZStrange

    ZStrange Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It happens with either multisession or closed session.

    Thankyou.
     
  10. ZStrange

    ZStrange Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I beleive you but it doesnt work for me, seems it needs a 3rd party app, and a registration key for it to run and that takes time.

    I used CDBurnerXP Pro and the problem still repeats itself.

    So at least I know now that its not Software related, its either Operating System or Hardware.

    I sent in a support request to Nero, will see how that goes.


     
  11. ZStrange

    ZStrange Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Problem Solved: I cant beleive it was this easy.

    For DVD's after burning, the disc must be ejected and inserted again for Windows Explorer to recognise the files. (did everyone but me know this before?).

    For CDr's you dont have to do this. Explorer can see the files immediately.

    In any caase it was worth the exercise because i found this applicatin whcih is pretty good and freeware. http://www.cdburnerxp.se/
    Looks almost like Nero :)
     
  12. vtach1924

    vtach1924 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    This is the same problem i am having. How do i fix it though. When it states coping done both the drives open and then i get the message to insert a blank disc into the drive. I have been woring on this all day yesterday and today. Someone PLEASE HELP MEEEEEEEEE! I have Nero also. Thanks for the help.
     

Share This Page