1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Burner Newbie

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by mn3us, Jan 14, 2004.

1. mn3us

mn3us Member

I am completely new to DVD burning. I would like to take video from my Camcorder and put it on a DVD with menus, etc. I would like to know about the following if anyone can help:

1. Hardware - From what I have read, I am going to get a dual format burner (+R/-R). Is there anything else I should be concerned about?

2. Software - There are so many different ones out there. The ones that seem to stand out are Pinnacle, Roxio Easy DVD Creator or Nero. Any suggestions. I have heard some bad things about Roxio software.

3. Media - I have read that media can make a difference. Any infomation would be appreciated.

4. Source - Does it make a difference where the video comes from? I have an analog camcorder, but I have seen hardware that will let me save it on the PC as mpeg, avi, etc. I assume this will be fine?

I am a software engineer and I have a network at home, so I am pretty comfortable with PCs and installing / configuring, so you probably don't have to dumb it down too much. I just don't want to go buy the first burner I see on ebay and have problems.

Although, I have 3 pre-school aged boys at home, so by the time I actually have some free time to put their videos onto DVD they will probably be in college :)

Thanks alot.

2. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member

mn3us,

You're right; Roxio doesn't play well with others!

Get whatever burner you want -

IMPORTANT - it should be compatible with your DVD Standalone player. Dual is easier buying discs - Most burners nowadays are dual. Panasonic 106's are good units, do what ever you wish them to -

Pinnacle is good, I like Nero. Better to keep away from Roxio.