1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Burner Not Recognizing Blank DVD-Rs

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Ieron, Dec 25, 2004.

1. Ieron

Ieron Guest

Hi Everyone

I just got a LITE-ON DVD+RW LDW-401S DVD burner but I can't get it to recognize the blank DVD-Rs i bought when i put them in the drive. I even updated the firmware and still no luck. It can recognize and play CDRoms, DVD Movies, CDRs and even the PS2 DVDs I put in it, but I can't get it to recognize the DVD-Rs.

Anyone know what could be the problem and how to fix it? Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 25, 2004
  2. rroettger

rroettger Regular member

It will never recognize the blank DVD-Rs. It is a plus R burner. You read dash R, but not write.

3. Ieron

Ieron Guest

So your saying I bought the wrong kind of blank DVD Rs? I'm sorry i'm annoying but I'm still new to this. What kind of blank dvds do I need to use this burner? Or can it even burn dvds at all?

4. saugmon

saugmon Senior member

Yep, You can only burn + Plus format only. You are probably going to need some programs. Dvd burning is a totally different world. But you are at the right place. You can get dvd shrink and dvd decrypter here at AD, and its free,these will take off copyrights. Nero 6.0 and higher will also work with dvd shrink for burning.Dvd decrypter is a powerful ripper and it has a burn engine.You can get a free 30 day trial also here,just click the blue links. Check out the guides on top tab of this page and guide forum.

What kind of discs do I need?