1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dvd burner wont read blank dvds anymore

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by Kewwy, Jun 15, 2011.

  1. Kewwy

    Kewwy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay, I am very new here and I don't even know anything about these things. I need someone with experience about these things to help. If I posted in the wrong forum then I'm sorry I didn't know where.
    So, the problem is my dvd burner won't read blanks anymore. :(
    It can read datas, dvds, burned dvds, and cds. I don't know what the problem is. Awhile back it couldn't read two blank dvds and thought it was the blank dvds themselves and I traded them for another. They worked even though they were the same brand. I have been using TDK blank dvds. A friend came over to burn some things to her blanks but they weren't the same brand as mine. When she was done she left the rest to me like 8. But I used four and now it wont read the other four. Later, I used a TDK brand and burned one. After that, it won't read anymore.
    I have used Nero 7 Premium for a long time now and have never experienced a problem with it. Also, I'm using a Windows Xp and I've had it since 4 or 5 years ago.
    I don't know anything about these things but I really need help and I don't know where else to look for help. I don't know if you have to update it regularly like an anti-virus and computer updates. I just viewed a thread about something like this but it was wayyy too long and very old.
    Please help!
     
  2. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,512
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    If this is an intermittent problem, first thing I would do is buy some Verbatim brand disks and see if they are recognized.
    Don't buy their 'Life Series' - get the ones that say 'AZO' or 'Advanced AZO' on the package.

    [​IMG]

    If you don't want to do that, then download and install ImgBurn.
    Run it and select 'Write files/folders to disc'
    Click on the 'Device' tab and insert a blank DVD.
    If you see information about the disk - the manufacturers ID - then the burner recognizes the disk OK.
    You can try it with different disks and they should all be recognized unless the burner is defective or needs a firmware update.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Kewwy

    Kewwy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    They don't have that brand where I live. So, I guess I'll try the other thing you said.
    One question though. Will the ImgBurn interfere with my nero? Is that even possible?? I need that answer first. I don't want to have to uninstall it. Okay I'll wait for your reply before I do anything. :D

    Also, thanks for replying. :D
     
  4. Aldiii

    Aldiii Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You should not have to remove Nero, Just install ImgBurn and try a burn with it. I have both install here. Good Luck
     
  5. Kewwy

    Kewwy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Almost got excited!! :(
    So, I did what you said and tried putting in the discs.
    One TDK blank dvd read and I tried the other ones my friend gave me
    but they won't read. The one that read I tried again but it
    didn't work. I also tried others but they didn't read also.
    I wonder whats wrong?? Can a virus affect the dvd burner as well??

    Thanks you guys for replying to me. :D

    I'll wait for a response. :D
     
  6. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,031
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
    lol..at thread title,would help if you data on them :p *crawls back to the hole scorp came out of*
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2011
  7. Kewwy

    Kewwy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Like I said I am very new here.
    I didn't know what to call it lol.

    Oh yea, I inserted a burned dvd while I was checking out the blank dvds I had and the ImgBurn read it just fine.
     
  8. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,512
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Write files/folders to disc > Tools > Drive > Check for firmware updates..
     
  9. Kewwy

    Kewwy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    And then?
    It takes me to a site.
    I don't know which to click on I mean.
    LG or just anything??
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2011
  10. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,031
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
    windows device manager will tell you what model drive you have
     
  11. Kewwy

    Kewwy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I can't find what model I have.
    Here's what it says.

    Device type: DVD / CD-ROM drives
    Manufacturer: Standard Cd rom drives

    Driver Provider: Microsoft

    But on that site there's no standard in the list.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2011
  12. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,512
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    In imgBurn it's the first line of information under the 'Device' tab.
    See post #2
     
  13. Kewwy

    Kewwy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You mean this > HL-DT-ST DVD+-RW GSA-H73N B103 (ATA)
    If that is what you mean. Then how am I supposed to know
    which brand to update from. That site says LG, Sony, and stuff
    like that. Or will it work if I choose anything??
    I'm sorry if this is a stupid question but you
    guys aren't really specific.
     
  14. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,031
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
    it's a Hitachi LG Data Storage sata burner =HLDS
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2011
  15. Kewwy

    Kewwy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11


    Is that it?? Go look.
     
  16. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,031
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
    I'd say yes better wait for attar to confirm
     
  17. ps355528

    ps355528 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    48
  18. Kewwy

    Kewwy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay then.
    I am gonna try that one.
    But this is my first time
    updating the firmware.
    Hope it all goes well.
     
  19. Kewwy

    Kewwy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I downloaded the firmware update.
    I researched on how to do it but
    their all different. So, I'm asking
    someone teach me how to and be specific
    this time. I don't know which to click
    on first. There's a HLDS common flash tool,
    FlashD1N and a vlc media file bin.
    Also, I don't know if I have to close
    programs before updating. If so, which
    programs do I want to stop running before
    updating?
     
  20. Kewwy

    Kewwy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Since nobody has replied yet guess I'll figure it out myself.
    I wanna do this today. Go do a little research first if I can
    find anything. It's important that I get it working now since
    I don't have a second computer. My job needs the burner.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2011

Share This Page