1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dvd Burner wont recognise blank Dvd

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Fanny_Fan, Dec 20, 2004.

  1. Fanny_Fan

    Fanny_Fan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Please help....I have installed a Samsung + - DVD burner two days ago. I am able to copy CD's & play DVD's. I have DVD shrink and Nero & Dvd X. I can get as far as copying the DVD to my hard drive but no further. I have tried + & - discs. I have reads about 1000 postings and cannot find an answer. I have a feeling that this problem lies with my hardware config. but I cannot see where. When I use nero I select the files and go to the next screen where I should be able to hit Burn - it is greyed out. DVD X keeps telling me to put in a blank DVD when I've got one in there already. What on earth is going on?
     
  2. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116

    Your burner S/B set for master on your secondary IDE and you S/B using an 80-pin IDE not a 40.

    Check for updated firmware and a working ASPI layer. Then look for information on the best media for DVD Backups -

    SEASON'S GREETINGS

    Pete


     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2004
  3. Fanny_Fan

    Fanny_Fan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    please tell me that it's easy to fix - and ah-hum how to change the setting..... I have no clue what your talking about so far...sorry i'm really new to this - any help would be appreciated...

    Natalie
     
  4. colw

    colw Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    If you are using an OEM version of Nero, it is likely that the DVD Burning function will be disabled.

    You can download a fully functioning trail version of Nero from their website.
     
  5. Fanny_Fan

    Fanny_Fan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Great advice regarding the OEM version of Nero - I've just burnt my first dvd using my old Nero Version that I restored using system restore. Thank you very much - Nat
     
  6. jadowa

    jadowa Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am having the exact same problem with DVD X Copy (the old correct version that should work). I can play the DVD, it will read the DVD, but it will not burn it. Will you please translate this for a newbie:

    "Your burner S/B set for master on your secondary IDE and you S/B using an 80-pin IDE not a 40.

    Check for updated firmware and a working ASPI layer. Then look for information on the best media for DVD Backups - "

    Thanks,
    Jason
     
  7. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116

    Hi Jason,

    Here Ya go my friend - s/b is a short hand for Should Be.

    Here are some things that many are familiar with - BTW, (BTW, short for By The Way) most pple (People) are not Newbies to computers, just DVD burning. The shorthand things that I use are common in the adult work place. We don't use text-messaging here or any type of PC code - just letting you know -

    Anyway, go through this, you need to keep your PC working right and this is part of it -

    There are some things we should check as they have a direct influence over how our drive behaves -

    Physically, Your burner s/b set as "master" on your IDE cable and the IDE cable s/b an 80-pin cable not a 40-pin. Always double-check your burner's jumpers to make sure they are correct if you installed the burner.

    1. Let's check for up-to-date Firmware for your burner.

    "OK, so what is this "Firmware" garbage?" Fair question. Firmware is a "tutor" who's job it is to eliminate any "bugs" found in your drive and to "introduce" your burner to all the different kinds of media to your burner is likely to run into and to tell your burner a little bit about it. What type of media it is and at what speed to burn it. As new media is introduced OR, as the Mfgrs of your burner find new ways to use it, new firmware updates OR "Flash upgrades" come out to "school" your burner, keeping it up-to-date. It's good to keep your burner up-to-date as it "tweaks" your burner and keeps it operating at peak performance.

    Of major Importance – When dealing firmware, you must match your burner's exact model with the proper Firmware. Trying to "Flash" your burner with something "Close" won't do it. It must be the exact firmware for your drive. ("Flashing" is what the installation is referred to when you put the firmware into your drive.) Trying to "Flash" your drive with some other drive's firmware can ruin your drive.

    At the bottom of the page look for "What's my firmware? - Try this little tool I found," Download this tool and check out your Firmware's health (up-to-date wise). You can probably get a current upgrade there also –

    http://flashman.rpc-1.com/

    Firmware page -

    http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_all.php

    Always check your burner's Mfgr's "Support" section to see if some newer Firmware is there -

    Firmware, You can't burn without it -



    Now we need to see if we have a working ASPI Layer.

    "Yea right, and ASPI stands for Another Stupid Piece of Insanity, right ?" No, not quite, it stands for "Advanced SCSI Programming Interface". "Well that tells me nothing, what's it do ?" That's a much easier question to answer. It is kind of a "translator" allowing your software to talk your hardware in a manner that your hardware will understand. Let's imagine an Earthman trying to talk to a rock. Now, think of a sledgehammer as being the interface. With the interface in play, the Earthman can tell the rock to disperse into gravel no matter what planet the rock is from, OK ? Good, let's see if we have a sledgehammer –

    2. Check for your ASPI Layer. If one isn't present, we'll need to get one and reinstall it, then reboot our PC to allow it to "settle in".

    ASPI Checker -
    http://www.adaptec.com/worldwide/su...oduct/EZ-SCSI_5.0&filekey=aspichk.exe&sess=no

    Force 1.8 ASPI Layer -

    http://forceaspi18.w.interia.pl/

    Finally, we need to check your DMA. "Ooohh, no you're not ! Only my husband or my Doctor checks my "D", "M" . . whatever . . ." No, no, it's OK, DMA stands for "Direct Memory Access" transfer mode OR as we say in the computer field, it's a really, fast way to move stuff. Many PC's today are using UDMA or "Ultra Direct Memory Access transfer mode, or as we like to call it, a really super-duper fast way to move stuff as opposed to the PIO mode. The PIO or Programmed I/O mode, is a technique whereby the system CPU and support hardware directly control the transfer of data between the system and the hard disk since shortly after the beginning of PC's up until the mid-1990's. So we want DMA (fast) more than we PIO (slow).

    3. Let's check your Drive's transfer mode. It should be DMA-4, not PIO.
    Windows XP downgrades the Ultra DMA transfer mode after receiving six CRC errors and drops it down to the much slower PIO mode.

    To enable DMA mode using the Device Manager
    1. Open Device Manager
    2. Double-click IDE ATA//ATAPI Controllers to display the list of controllers and channels.
    3. Right-click the icon for the channel to which your burner is connected and select Properties. Now click the Advanced Settings tab.
    4. In the Current Transfer Mode drop-down box, select DMA if available if the current setting says, "PIO Only."
    If the drop-down box already says, "DMA if Available" but the current transfer mode is PIO, then the user must "toggle" the settings. That is, change the selection from "DMA if available" to PIO only, and click "OK".
    Then repeat the steps above to change the selection to "DMA if available".

    OPTION: Right-click the burner and select "Uninstall" and then "OK" all prompts until the PC reboots. Upon rebooting, the PC should "find" your burner and reinstall it setting it by "Default" to DMA.

    Lastly, when did you last defrag your Hard Drive (HD) ? If you have to stop and think about the last time you did it, then it's way, way overdue. Here we go, (Start, All Programs, Accessories, System Tools, Disk Defragmenter. When it opens, choose your HD, analyses it to see where we stand then if you need it (you probably will) choose Defragment.).

    After you finish doing it now you might want to think about having "Scheduled Tasks" in your Control Panel do it for you on a daily basis.

    A fragmented HD not only drastically slows down your system but it can cause all number of things to happen inside your PC, a messed up burn being one of them.

    Once we've done that, our DVD burner should operate at peak efficiency :D)

    Cheers,

    Pete

    Now let's see if everything will work together the way we want it to, OK ?

    Give it a test run and let us know how you make out -

     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2004

Share This Page