1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD burning (New to it)

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by sjb675, Mar 2, 2007.

1. sjb675

sjb675 Member

Hello, i am new to the whole dvd burning scene. i have a dvd burner and bought some blank dvd-r's. i have a bunch of downloaded movies, mostly 700mb ones (dvd rips). I understand that dvd-r's are 4.7gb, so lets say i wanted to put more than one movie on a dvd, is this possible. is it even possible to put my 700mb ones on a dvd? please list me all my possibilities as i move on and learn. thanks alot. also, for some more information, most of them are from the axxo series. let me know. any feedback will be greatly appreciated. thanks a ton.

2. rdmercer1

rdmercer1 Active member

well for one thing you will have to convert the files to be vob complyment, convertxtodvd will do that for you

3. fasfrank

fasfrank Active member

Welcome to AfterDawn!
    Yes, it's possible. There is a learning curve to all of this. Lets start with your DVD-R discs. There is no point starting out with poor media as many do.
    Try Taiyo Yuden, Maxell (made in Japan) Verbatim, Sony (made in japan) or TDK discs.
    Check what you have against this List and see how they rate.
    http://www.digitalfaq.com/media/dvdmedia.htm

As far as adding a bunch of videos together, it shouldn't be much of a problem. You said these are DVD rips. That does not tell me much.

What do you see when you open one of these with Windows Explorer?

A DVD rip to me is a VIDEO_TS folder with a VOBS, BUPs and IFO files inside. If this is what you have then you can combine them with DVD Shrink in the Re-author mode.