1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Burning Problems using iMac Superdrive

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Twingo, Dec 30, 2005.

1. Twingo

Twingo Member

I have been having trouble doind any DVD burning using my G4 iMac Superdrive.
    It writes fine to CD-R, but will not write to DVD. I get the following message:-
    Drive reported an error
    Sense Key-Illegal request
    Sense code- 0x30,0x08
    Cannot write-application code mismatch
    The OSX reports.......Can't set up track for writing
    I am using Mac The Ripper, and then all i do is drag the vidoe files into Toast Titanium 7
    My Mac should be able to write to DVD-RW, I do know that they cannot write to DVD+RW
    HELP

2. rumblefix

rumblefix Member

I'm having the same problems. I have a tuned-up Lombard G3 powerbook running a 433HZ G4 chip. 512MB RAM. The Superdrive unit is the same as on the Apple G4 Powerbooks. The error I get after 3 mins of burning a DVD-R at 1X speed on Verbatim DVD-R media is:

The Drive reported an error.
    Sense Key = HARDWARE ERROR
    Sense Code = 0x3E, 0x02
    TIMEOUT ON LOGICAL UNIT

I am trying to burn a DVD-R from a Video_TS folder after having ripped it using MR2.66. I have tried using the Toast 7 option of burning a DVD-R from a Video_TS. That gave me the above error after about two minutes (and that was after a compression time of nearly 2 hours :(.

Thinking the compression under Toast may have screwed things up, I recompressed the ripped files using DVD2onex to a size of 4400 MB. Tried burning to a DVD-ROM format following [bold]Mediaguru's[/bold] excellent DVD walkthrough, but the same error appears again.