1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD CSS error with DVD Shrink v2.3!!!

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by osh68, Jul 3, 2003.

  1. osh68

    osh68 Guest

    In the movies LORD OF THE RINGS II, THE MISSION AND IMPOSTOR when I ripped them to my HD, this program send me the next error:

    CDVD CSS (ciclic redundancy error)..

    Do you know what's going on and what can I do to solve this problem???

    Thanks...
     
  2. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    i think it means too fast rip or bad media like a copy of copy?

    Thx..
     
  3. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    What it is, is Cyclical DVD CSS Encryption problem. It sometimes does this in DVD shrink, thats why i keep DVD2One installed also to use it instead when i get this error.

    Chris
     
  4. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    DVD2One 1.2 is worth the £30 or so IMHO

    [there is a couple of bugs in DVD Shrink 2.3 but all in all a wonderful little proggie]
     
  5. Rygaar

    Rygaar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I use DVD Shrink 2.3 to rip and the latest Nero (demo Nero551042)to burn to DVD+R/RW using Verbatim discs with DataLife Plus. Does anyone else experience video getting blotchy and scrambled at some points? These blotchy spots are not the same from one dvd to the next, ie. if I rip and burn Shrek to one DVD+R, then do it over to a second disk, the scrambled parts won't be the same. This is independent of compression level, i have no virus detection program running, or other demanding applications, and the buffer size from Nero is always well above 90% throughout the burning. I don't know how to fix this.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  6. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    Are you burning faster than X1 ??
     
  7. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    http://www.nero.com/en/#c1045484562490
    On this page (which sorta un-nerves me slightly cos I have great success w/ Nero) at the bottom it says which drives are supported by Nero Burning Rom/Enterprise and DVD+R is not listed ... strangely !!
    What this means , I'm not sure_X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]
    I give you all these seed bearing plants & 'erbs to use...[/small]
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2003
  8. Rygaar

    Rygaar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello,

    I am burning at 2.4x, and I've thought that this might cause a problem before. But on the burn speed option, 2.4x is the only available speed on the drop down menu. Nero does not let me use any other speed. strange I know. I'm burning with laptop's internal drive. Maybe it's less flexible in speeds than desktop drives? i don't know. Also, since I've posted my question I've been checking whether the dvd's are also defficient when read from my laptop's drive. They seem to work fine when I play them on the comp, but not my TV/DVD combo. I suppose the problem could be with my TV/DVD, but I was hoping that it would be more general, with a known solution. Perhaps I should try to play them on a different dvd player (other than comp, and my TV), to see if the problem really [bold] is [/bold] my player. thanks for your help.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2003
  9. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Switch to Record Now Max and use this guide that BaaBaa and i put together:

    http://www.chrismccann.co.uk

    Click on the record now max

    Chris
     
  10. Rygaar

    Rygaar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Herbsman,

    you are right in that on the Nero compatibility page, my particular driver is not listed, however I think it is supported because Nero recognizes it (ie, the name appears correctly at the bottom of the Nero window), and the burned disks play well for the most part, instead of not playing at all. Also I can easily format disks in this drive using Nero and drag and drop files and so on.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2003
  11. Rygaar

    Rygaar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oriphus. I'll give it a try, thank you. Is RecordMax free? hard to beat DVD Shrink huh?

    Thanks for your help

    ps. I just read your guide. Excellent, easy to follow. My compliments to B. One question though, you ask that we add the VIDEO_TS folder to the project before burning unto dvd-r. What about the empty AUDIO_TS folder that all dvd movies contain?
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2003
  12. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    dont think you need AUDIO_TS folder?

    Is your system new? if so go to nero website and download the latst file to drop into nero directory with all new drives listed !!!!

    also try the example image its a little file you burn to test all is working! and i think to make your drive reconised by nero properly!

    Thx...
     
  13. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hi, sorry Record Now Max is not free, £29.99 i think, but they do give you a full 3o day trial with everything working!. Now thats pretty good. There is a link in the website i provided u with to get it.

    Chris
     

Share This Page