1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Decrypter Buffers at 0

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by stallone7, Nov 8, 2007.

  1. stallone7

    stallone7 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi everyone. I've been a lurker for a while, but now have a question that I couldn't find an answer to while searching. Anyway...

    I've been ripping and burning DVDs for a couple of years now, and I've been having trouble for the last month. When I go to burn a DVD, the buffers start to fill up during the lead in, then drop to 0 or slightly above for the duration of the burn. I used to burn at max speed with the buffers full. Now it takes 35-40 minutes to burn a full single layer disk. The disks turn out fine, and play in my DVD player, but I don't like that it takes so long. Ripping goes fine, same speed as ever.

    My system is like 4 years old now. It's an Athlon XP 3000+ with an NEC ND-2500A (according to Nero InfoTool) burner. It is a DVD+-R/RW single layer drive. Nothing has changed except I added a better video card 3 or 4 months ago (that didn't affect the burning at the time, so I doubt that's it). Also, I defragged the hard drive a couple weeks ago hoping that would help, but it didn't. I also cleaned up the drive a little, freeing up around 30 GB now (more than enough for a full rip and then the ISO created to burn.

    One other thing. I have been using DVD Decrypter to burn ISOs for a while. Again, nothing has changed in the way I burn disks. In fact I used the same media before this happened, and tried it again (from teh same spindle even) and that didn't help. I really don't know what is up, I'd love some help! Thanks everyone!
     
  2. iluvendo

    iluvendo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hi, after ripping try imgburn (free from www.imgburn.com BTW imgburn is coded by LUK the same guy from DVDD). Hope this helps
     
  3. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    uninstall the controllers for your drive burner in device manger and reboot pc

    [while there actullay see if your in PIO or DMA mode]

    maybe uninstall DD and reload
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2007
  4. stallone7

    stallone7 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I was planning on trying imgburn. I installed it last night, so I'll give that a try when I get home from work. If that doesn't help, I'll give the drivers uninstall and reinstall a try. I'll update tonight when I get home. Thanks for the ideas.
     
  5. stallone7

    stallone7 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried IMGBurn and that didn't do it. So I found a forum mentioning Herrie's (or something like that) firmware for the drive. I downloaded that and installed it. Bingo, it now works like a dream. And supposedly it might support DL now, so I'll give that a try.

    Thanks for the ideas everyone.
     

Share This Page