1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Decrypter stops

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by dvd6k, Dec 5, 2004.

  1. dvd6k

    dvd6k Guest

    Hi -

    I'm using DVD decrypter and the (still active) trial version of AnyDVD (CSS cracker) to back up Bourne ID. The ripping process slows down and comes to a stop on the fourth VOB file of the main movie. I have also tried to rip with DeCSS, with no success. Does anyone have a crack for this? I have a KHypermedia DVD+RW burner that I'm using to rip.

    Thanks for reading... please help!
     
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    There's most likely a defect of some sort on the disc that's causing the ripping programs to slow down then stop when they can't read it.

    Is the disc clean and scratch free?
     
  3. wild77

    wild77 Guest

    Here is a link you might want to try if you are still having problems after cleaning the disc.
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/124000
    Look for ScubaPete's info on the settings for Decrypter, some of his tips have been very helpful to me .
     
  4. dvd6k

    dvd6k Guest

    I will try cleaning the disc. But this I don't understand: If the reason the disc doesn't rip is because it needs cleaning, then why does it play with no glitches or skips?
     
  5. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Standalone DVD players are made to handle small glitches without affecting playback but when you try to rip a DVD bit for bit these small bits of unreadable material will stop the rip process :)
     
  6. truplay89

    truplay89 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi i have Bourne Supremacy dvd. I tried to copy it with DVD SHRINK and the program just shuts down. Ive cleaned it and i reinstalled DVD SHRINK and no luck. can someone suggest some other program to use
     
  7. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    @ truplay89

    Do you get any specific error? Does the PC lock up?
     
  8. kedogn

    kedogn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am having the same problem with "Shrink" and Bourne Supremacy. What happens to me is that the Shrink program stops, locks up, and then closes itself. Its quite strange, it only does that on that disk, and I have tried two copies of TBS and it still wont work.
     
  9. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    @kedogn

    Have you tried ripping it with DVD Decrypter first? You can then open the files in Shrink and proceed as usual :)
     
  10. jacota20

    jacota20 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i ripped the Bourne Supremacy using dvd decrypter with no problems.
     
  11. kedogn

    kedogn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I was able to rip with Decrypter... however, when I try to Shrink with Shrink, it still doesnt work. Just locks up on me.
     
  12. Angus69

    Angus69 Guest

    I wasn't able to decrypt it on home unit but my laptop was able to. Could it be my home burner verses the laptop one. I set up Decryptor on both the same way as far as I know
     
  13. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    @ Angus69

    It very well could be down to a differeence in the drives. There may have been some "iffy" sections of the disc that the laptop drive was able to handle better. Another possiblity is your desktop drive may have a bit of dust built up on the laser lens and need a shot of compressed air to clean it :)
     

Share This Page